Jump to content

Steve Long

Administrators
  • Content count

    17,260
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

Steve Long last won the day on July 10 2014

Steve Long had the most liked content!

About Steve Long

  • Rank
    Decuple Millennial Master
  • Birthday 11/27/1965

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://www.herogames.com
  1. Attack question

    No, there's not. In fact, given your description that the second attack always hits if the first one does, Linked is really the best way to go -- you have no guarantee of a second hit with Autofire or other methods.
  2. APG2 43 says: “Characters generally cannot Aid naked Advantages, because there’s usually no way to “improve” them (aside perhaps from increasing the Active Points they can apply to). The GM can allow this if he wants to, but if so he should determine how Aid applies.” So I’ll leave the specifics you describe to the wise and knowledgeable GM.
  3. Proper use of Linked

    First, it’s not legal for a character to apply the Always On Limitation to a Characteristic, absent specific circumstances where the GM approves it. A character’s Characteristics are essentially always available to him, given the way they work in the game, and they don’t get a Limitation for this. For Always On to apply, being unable to turn off the power has to hinder or restrict the character in some way. Unless that’s the case — and I can’t see how it does in this case (though of course you may not have needed to supply every detail about that power). Since you’re the GM, it’s up to you to decide if the Limitation is valid. Second, I don't necessarily think you're too giving. It sounds to me like you've given this some serious thought and made what you think is the best decision to ensure game balance while allowing the player to have fun with his character's concept. Third, since the Greater Power in a Linked can function on its own, it doesn't matter if the Lesser Power is reduced in strength (for whatever reason). The proportionality rules for Linked (see 6E1 385) don't apply because they only govern what happens when the Greater Power is used at less than full strength. So even if circumstances reduce a Lesser Power (in this case due to the Limitation regarding solar radiation), the Greater Power can still function at full strength. I think that addresses all the issues you raise, but if I missed something, please post another question or PM me.
  4. Applying multiple Limitations to a power that way isn't necessarily illegal, though some GMs might consider it "double-dipping" and forbid it. But in any event, that approach is probably more complexity (and more text on the character sheet) than you need. I would suggest coming up with one Limitation -- let's call it Dependent On Solar Radiation for the sake of discussion -- assign it an appropriate value (probably -1/4 based on what you're telling me, but given the nature of your campaign maybe -1/2), and then make a note on the character sheet of all the rules/guidelines that apply to the Limitation (just like you did in your question). That avoids the potential problems of "two Limitations covering the same thing.
  5. Healing

    See 6E1 234, "Healing Inanimate Beings And Nonliving Objects." You might also want to check TUV 26 under "Healing." I think that's about all that needs to be said on the subject, but to the extent that still leaves you with questions, I think they probably fall into the realm of the GM's discretion.
  6. That's entirely up to the GM. Some GMs are pretty forgiving about this, others are tough. Some may require you to justify your definitions. For example, in my campaign, I'd want a "reasonable" (within genre conventions and definitions ) explanation of how your Trigger could determine who's an enemy/ally and who's not. But personally, I wouldn't consider either of your example Triggers as being invalid per se.
  7. Speed in MPH

    See the text box on 6E2 25. Basically, it's (((meters moved x Phases per Turn) x5 ) x60 ) / 1609.
  8. That's up to the GM -- both what defense is involved (though published books, particularly The Ultimate Energy Projector, provide a lot of guidance on that issue) and whether Damage Negation applies. Nothing in the rules on 6E1 183 restricts Damage Negation to only certain special effects of AVADs, so I suspect most GMs will rule in favor of the Power applying to the sort of AVADs you suggest. Others may want a more nuanced approach, or may come up with more specific house rules for their campaigns.
  9. Fully delving into this issue is a subject that will have to wait for The Ultimate Gadgeteer, or perhaps I can integrate it into APG3 (which I’m currently working on). In the meantime, to keep things simple, here’s are some basic rules: Since Computers don’t have STUN, technically speaking they can’t be Stunned or Knocked Out. (If built as a Focus, or with a similar special effect, they can of course be broken in various ways, and thus rendered inoperable.) If a Computer is part of a character’s build and not a Focus — for example, it represents a second head, or an integral part of a robot’s body — it’s up to the GM to decide what happens to it in combat conditions. A Computer that represents, for example, an ettin’s second head should probably be Stunned or Knocked Out if the ettin himself suffers those conditions. One that’s part of a robot might suffer the same fate, or might remain operable and able to perform any functions it’s programmed to. The GM should consider the Computer’s programming as well as common sense, dramatic sense, and game balance sense in making his decision.
  10. Elvensong Street Press' Year in Review

    Myrlyn -- I'll see what I can dig up of the photos from the renovation last year. And about posting some pics of the shelves. I used to do a thing where once a week I'd post a photo of part of my library on my Facebook feed; maybe I should start that up again.
  11. Sentient vehicle

    See TUV 15-16 re: the possibility of making a Vehicle sentient. If the GM prefers not to use those rules, just build the Vehicle an AI Computer and define the computer's special effect as "this vehicle is sentient."
  12. Stretching

    First, sorry I somehow missed this question last week. 1, 4. That depends on special effects. The classic sort of comic book Stretching used by characters like Mr. Fantastic, the Elongated Man, and Plastic Man allows for a high degree of malleability (but also usually requires the character to buy the ability to alter his bodily dimensions). On the other hand, Stretching used to define the length of a polearm isn’t malleable at all, and a robotic arm servo that can lengthen might or might not be malleable. Lack of malleability does not qualify as a Limitation. 2-3. Within the context of the HERO System rules, the Head is considered a limb (see, e.g., the rules for Grab). See APG 117 re: Stretching the head and sensory organs.
  13. Someone recently asked me to sticky post the 6E Errata PDF again, and that seemed like a good idea to me, so here you go. I'll also arrange to have it put other places you might logically look for it. This PDF is post-dated a couple days to be complete as of January 1, 2018. 6E Errata 01-01-2018.pdf
  14. First off, thanks for explaining your question in such detail. That's a big help. 6E1 447 shows how each of the Talents was built. As you can see from its build there, it has both the Hardened and Impenetrable Advantages. So it retains all the functionality it had in the 5th Edition rules in the 6th Edition rules. I simply forgot to mention Impenetrable on 6E1 110, but I will now include that in the errata.
×