Red Stars: campaign

greymankle

This a call to all the experienced Hero players out there. I need some advice. I've been playing Hero for about two years now. I'm taking the plunge to try and run a game for our group. The group has an established world that they know and love. Our main GM has been running it for about 15-20 years now. Not sure exactly how long as I am a new-comer. So it's a pretty tough audience with established expectations. Of course they are all nice and helpful but I would prefer my baptism-by-fire to not end in charred remains.

Right now the biggest roadblock I'm encountering is the mechanics. I have a good grasp on the basics. It just seems that creating NPC's/Enemies should be easier than I'm making it. Are there tools out there you verterans have that you feel like sharing?

Right now I'm trying to flesh out the agents and minions running around that they may encounter. I can make the stats but figuring in the balance gives me headaches. I don't want a TPK in the first session but I need some fear to get them moving in a fight.

I'll post a campaign "splash page" a little later. Vaguely it will be a high-tech military game. I hope to add in some espionage and mystery.

The game won't be starting for a while. I have plenty of time. Any help you can give would be appreciated.

Re: Red Stars: campaign

The most simple advice is to tread cautiously out of the gate rather than pressing them to the wall on the first night. Play around a bit with the numbers of creatures, thier damage, and their offensive power. Think like playing DOOM - in the early stages you are taking on 1-2 weak zombies but pretty soon you have 4-5 Pink Demons coming your way.