Alignment Issues

Omnigames

Okay, so I'm a newbie to the Hero system. I am currently writing my ideal RPG for a PC, which will (hopefully) be eventually ported to a console (probably XBox 360 but that remains to be determined). For the past 2 years or so, I had been using the d20 system. However, I only recently (about 2 weeks ago) discovered the Hero system at a local games store. As I'm sure most people on these forums will agree, the Hero system is far superior to d20 and is EXACTLY what I was looking for with which to write my game. So I converted. But I have some issues...

I very much like the idea of Alignment in the d20 system. I like the idea of good, evil, law and chaos as determining factors in the universe. Also, certain characters must be of a certain alignment. For example, Paladins must be Lawful Good; if they ever do anything to change their alignment -- even if it's "only" to Neutral Good -- they "fall" from their Paladin status and become a Fighter. Similarly, Druids must be Neutral. I like that and want to reflect it in my game. But unless I completely overlooked it, Hero doesn't (inherently) support alignments. (If it does, please let me know where I can find this information.)

So... does anyone have any good ideas as to how to do this with Hero? I was thinking of using a simple 1-100 scale (or similar) for each Alignment axis but am open to other ideas.

Thanks!

• Replies 247
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Silly rabbit, alignments are for mechanics

Welcome to Hero. Alignment is only one of many conventions Hero did not bring along. You are not overlooking it. It simply is not needed in Hero.

I am sure there will be plenty of responses telling why you should simply discard the concept. I am also a member of that camp. However, you specifically asked how to include it in Hero, so I shall endeavor to offer you suggestions to that end.