Opticus

Hi all,

I hope someone in this forum can help shed a little light on my question.  If this is not the correct forum for this question I apologize in advance.

I am new to the superhero RPG genre and I have a question regarding villains in these RPG's.  How do GM's handle the death or non death of these major villains in a superhero RPG.  Are they killed off regularly?  In comic books the major villains never die, is that the way things are supposed to be run in a superhero RPG.  Lex Luthor, the Joker, etc... still live to wreak havoc in the real comic world.

Anyone have any advice?

Thanks in advance

OPticus

The Dark Champions genre is more for "street level" type games; Champions for the more "four color" ones.  

And that's kind of the answer to your question - what "feel" do you want for your games?  Most comics save the villains to use them again, but there's a bunch that do not, solving their villain problem in a permanent way.  Which do you want for your game?

Maximum security prisons can keep villains out of circulation for as long as you want, but a teleporting villain may never stay caught.  If they need an emergency exit or escape plan, give them one.  If the villain is a one shot, let them rot.  Either way.

Chris.

Also, individual player characters may or may not conform to the general campaign feel.  Real examples of my PCs-

The Kraken is a [Dark Champions] Detroit street fighter, a martial artist who uses smoke and flash bombs, and tries not to kill anyone.

White Wolf is a four color alpha werewolf in Millennium City.  In spite of her fangs and claws, she has yet to kill or transform anyone.  She's a combat monster, though- she took down Grond, among the most powerful super humans on the planet  http://championsonline.wikia.com/wiki/Grond