Improving GM skill

kukuli

I am new to the forums here but not to the Hero System. I've been playing since Champions started.  I've been GMing for about ten years and am what I consider a middling GM.  I am trying to up my game.

My major problem is that my players get distracted.  Computers, side conversations and in game antics that thouroughly distrupt the game. Sometimes I have to remind players of rule judgments I've allready made over and over again.  I recognise that it is my lack of control that is the problem, but I am uncertain how to correct the problem.

We use 5er.  The genre started as pulp and through a time travel plot became steampunk. All of the players wanted the change.

Can anyone here give me some advise on improving my skill. Besides a whip and chair.

Ban laptops during game hours.

I'm totally a new-generation gamer, I have .pdfs and spreadsheets on my computer, I use it for gaming things all the time. So, I get having them out during a game. They were starting to become a distraction, though. So I suggested we try a game without them, and it was a serious improvement.

Not saying that one should do that all the time, but it can be a real help in focus.

How long are your typical sessions?

It sounds like you need to have a talk with everyone and come to some sort of agreement about what everyone wants from the game. Perhaps try making a list of what is and isn't working for everyone (you already have your list of what you think isn't working). Then discuss what you (as a group) can do about the things that aren't working.

Ban laptops during game hours.

I'm totally a new-generation gamer, I have .pdfs and spreadsheets on my computer, I use it for gaming things all the time. So, I get having them out during a game. They were starting to become a distraction, though. So I suggested we try a game without them, and it was a serious improvement.

Not saying that one should do that all the time, but it can be a real help in focus.