Experiences With Heroic Action Points

Cantriped

I was reviewing the rules for Heroic Action Points (CC 130; FHC 153) this afternoon. Although CC/FHC are my primary rules references, I've never actually used these rules before. In campaigns I've run in the past I've simply ignored them.

I'm writing today to poll the Hero Games community regarding their experiences with Heroic Action Points.

How do you feel about Heroic Action Points?

Have you ever played in campaigns using them?

Have you ever run campaigns using them?

What was their impact on those campaigns?

I'm writing today to poll the Hero Games community regarding their experiences with Heroic Action Points.

Honestly, no opinion either way. I started playing durring the time of the BBB, and quite simply haven't played much 5th edition, and both real life and not finding local Hero gamers prevents me from 6ed/CC.

Nope.

Again, no.

It can't impact what I don't have.

I like HAP -- primarily because players can use them to keep dramatically inappropriate things from happening just because of poor dice throws.  We actually have one player who, for whatever reason, tends to roll very poorly ... and HAP keeps in check his real-world 3d6 Unluck (apparently bought with the [+1] 'only applies to RPGs' Advantage ... such that the value of the disadvantage/complication is halved).

​Strings of bad dice rolls should never have so much power in a game such that they dictate storyline in absolute fashion, but, unfortunately, without something to normalize them ... that's exactly what can happen.  Likewise, I don't think a GM should have to constantly work to deal with the outcomes of repeatedly bad dice throws.  A bad throw here/there, sure (that's fun!), but a constant storyline mess due to dice throws ... is not fun for anyone.