Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Loading Prefab Issue

prefabs

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Psillias

Psillias

    Skilled Normal

  • HERO Member
  • 52 posts

Posted 18 May 2017 - 08:35 PM

NOTE:  I'm running Hero Designer 6, Build 20170504

 

So when I attempt to load certain prefabs from either the Champions Powers (CP HD) files or the Equipment Guide (HSEG HD) files, I run into an issue where I cannot see the actual .hdc files in a given sub directory. 

This has occurred in the following sub directories for the Powers files:

 - Size Alteration

 - Sleep and Dream

 - Solar and Celestial

 - Spirit Projection

 - Stretching

 - Telekinetic

 - Time

 - Vibration

 - Water

 - Weather

 

This has occurred in the following sub directories for the Equipment Guide files:

 - Powered Armor

 

This issue did not seem to occur with the last build and I deleted the directories and reinstalled the files from the Client Area of this page with the same results.


<Insert Witty Comment Here>

 

"...or you can find the secret tunnel that leads to the Vaul of Dickish DM which is filled with 10,000,000 copper coins and a 5,000 pound solid gold statue of a middle finger that is too big to fit through the door."


#2 Simon

Simon

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,495 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 12:09 AM

The only "filter" that HD uses in determining what files to display is the file extension. Prefabs will be looking for .hdp. Characters will look for .hdc. And so on.

I am but mad north by northwest.  When the wind is southerly, I know a hawk from a handsaw.


#3 Psillias

Psillias

    Skilled Normal

  • HERO Member
  • 52 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 06:00 AM

So renaming the files should resolve the issue then?


<Insert Witty Comment Here>

 

"...or you can find the secret tunnel that leads to the Vaul of Dickish DM which is filled with 10,000,000 copper coins and a 5,000 pound solid gold statue of a middle finger that is too big to fit through the door."


#4 Simon

Simon

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,495 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 10:50 AM

If the file is named something like [filename].hdp.txt, then yes -- remove the .txt and it will show up and act like a prefab.

If the file is named [filename].hdc, then no -- it's a character file and should be used as such.

I am but mad north by northwest.  When the wind is southerly, I know a hawk from a handsaw.


#5 Psillias

Psillias

    Skilled Normal

  • HERO Member
  • 52 posts

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:54 AM

So then I'm confused...

 

Why would a list of powers (e.g.; Size Alteration) from the Champions Powers book be listed as .hdc files instead of the correct .hdp???

 

Note:  I realize this is probably not your issue...I'm just venting.


<Insert Witty Comment Here>

 

"...or you can find the secret tunnel that leads to the Vaul of Dickish DM which is filled with 10,000,000 copper coins and a 5,000 pound solid gold statue of a middle finger that is too big to fit through the door."


#6 IndianaJoe3

IndianaJoe3

    Mad Hero System Genius

  • HERO Member
  • 2,822 posts

Posted 22 May 2017 - 12:09 PM

Why would a list of powers (e.g.; Size Alteration) from the Champions Powers book be listed as .hdc files instead of the correct .hdp???

 

They were entered into HD by different people. (I was another one.)



#7 Chris Goodwin

Chris Goodwin

    Social justice globehead

  • HERO Member
  • 4,384 posts

Posted 03 September 2017 - 12:08 PM

I noticed some further weirdness.  I copied TELEKINESIS-CP.hdc to TELEKINESIS-CP.hdp and tried to open that as a prefab.  HD threw a bunch of weird errors (text below).  I opened up the file in Notepad++ and got a bunch of binary in the file.  On a hunch, I renamed the copied file to TELEKINESIS-CP.zip, then opened it.  It opened with a "Telekinesis Powers" folder inside, and a number of .hdc files inside that.  I extracted those and they were standard .hdc files when opened in Notepad++.  

 

The text of the errors I am getting is: 

 

 

 

Title: Error retrieving template 

Red octagon bang

An error occurred retrieving the template used for the saved character.

Using 'Standard Super' template.

 

Error Message: Error on line 1 of document file:<path>TELEKINETIC_POWERS/TELEKINESIS-CP.hdc: Content is not allowed in prolog.

 

 

 

 

 

Title: Error loading character

Red octagon bang

An error occurred loading the character.

Data loss may occur if you save.

 

Please shut down Hero Designer and restart.

 

Error message: Error on line 1 of document file:<path>TELEKINETIC_POWERS/TELEKINESIS-CP.hdc: Content is not allowed in prolog.

 

 

 

 

 

Title: Error loading preferences

Red octagonal bang

An error occurred loading your character.

Data loss may occur if the character is saved.

 

Please restart HERO Designer and try again.

Error Message: null

 

 

Attaching screenshots of the above, as well as trace.log as trace.log.txt

 

My fix:  I was getting that same series of messages every time I opened HD.  In order to end that I had to delete the spurious TELEKINESIS-CP.hdc file, and then I could open the software.

Attached Thumbnails

  • error1.png
  • error2.png
  • error3.png

Attached Files


Chris Goodwin
The Big Thread of Helpful HowtosThe Unofficial HERO System Forum | HERO System Low Heroic Protocols | Old School ChampionsHow to Play HERO System | Robot Warriors to HERO System Current Editions
 
There are two paths your character can take into the game: the path of the game guidelines document, or the path of the Character Approver 9000. Choose your path wisely.


#8 Simon

Simon

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 12,495 posts

Posted 03 September 2017 - 04:56 PM

Main issue: prefabs and character files (.hdp and .hdc, respectively) have a large amount of similarity, but they _are_ different. Simply renaming a .hdc file to .hdp is going to cause issues — as noted. Don’t do that. If you _have_ done that and run into errors AND have HD set to reload prefabs on launch, you’re going to need to either delete the file in question (to prevent HD from trying to load it on launch) or delete your appPrefs.xml file (to remove all settings that tell HD what to do on launch beyond the basics).
  • Chris Goodwin likes this

I am but mad north by northwest.  When the wind is southerly, I know a hawk from a handsaw.


#9 buzz

buzz

    Cosmically Powerful Superhero

  • HERO Member
  • 812 posts

Posted 20 September 2017 - 01:34 PM

I was seeing this same issue and tried Chris' solution — renaming the TK file to .ZIP and extracting.

 

It worked, creating a folder as he said. I poked around some of the other files and noticed there are others (e.g., Teleport) that suffer the same problem.

 

I think it would be helpful to remedy this issue for the pack so future buyers don't have this problem, and maybe even see about turning those .hdc files into .hdp files (which are much more useful).







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: prefabs