Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
jujitsuguy

Multiple Limited Power Limitations on a Power

Recommended Posts

Team:

I have a character in my campaign who has a Solar radiation-based power, which they get a "boost" of a recovery ability, a well as tying into their other abilities.

 

Now, after discussion, if the person is relatively in a solar system--aka our Solar system, within the Oort cloud to define boundaries--their "Boost" power(s) for recovery and linked other powers work at 100% efficiency.

 

However, if they are outside of the Solar system, but in space w/ plenty of starlight, their ability drops to about 1/2....normally, I would then write a limited power to 1/2 effectiveness in Starlight-only, which I would assign it not the full 1/2 power limitation(default -1/2), but more like a -1/4, because they won't be in space necessarily most of the time, but my campaign DOES go into space relatively frequently.

 

To complicate things even more, there is and can be a scenario where almost all light(remember, solar radiation) is mostly or completely gone, which I give the person the benefit of the doubt and say if any ambient radiation--body's, reactors, or heat of any kind--they will be reduced to 1/4 their ability...perhaps then giving them a -1/2 on it.

 

Is it legal or logical in this case to allow these two limitations to be applied to the power, or am I defeating the purpose of limited power limitations?

 

I first said I'm not sure, and reading the manual, 6E1-382, I couldn't find if there is an issue doing this.

 

Any thoughts on this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Applying multiple Limitations to a power that way isn't necessarily illegal, though some GMs might consider it "double-dipping" and forbid it. But in any event, that approach is probably more complexity (and more text on the character sheet) than you need. I would suggest coming up with one Limitation -- let's call it Dependent On Solar Radiation for the sake of discussion -- assign it an appropriate value (probably -1/4 based on what you're telling me, but given the nature of your campaign maybe -1/2), and then make a note on the character sheet of all the rules/guidelines that apply to the Limitation (just like you did in your question). That avoids the potential problems of "two Limitations covering the same thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  

×