HERO System newb...What books to buy?

pming

Hiya!

Question: If money was no object, what books would everyone recommend for an experienced RPG'er looking to get the "Full Delux Experience" of the system?

Thanks!

PS: I'm a very experienced RPG'er with 38+ years under my belt (and about 38+ pounds above it!... ;) ), mostly as DM. I'm just a newb with the HERO system is all... :)

^_^

Paul L. Ming

Deluxe experience?  It depends on what you want...

i would want want the full sixth edition, both blue books.  That is the key starting point.  I would then decide if I wanted to learn by playing superheroes, fantasy, sci-fi, or pulp.

I would get the relevant book for that, Champions, Pulp Hero, Star Hero etc.  I would then buy a campaign book.  I would go superheroes and get the Book of the Machine to give you a core for a campaign.  That is all you “need”.

All kinds of stuff you might “want”.  

I would get the 5th edition ultimate books (brick, speedster, etc) to get the feel for different archetypes and how to model them in the system.  I would also get a villains book - you learn a lot by seeing how other people build stuff. 

Finally I would buy Villainy Amok.  That is a treatise on building a superhero adventure.

Lots of folk will recommend Hero Designer.  I would wait until I had learned the system, really internalised how the system works.  After that I think HD is a great tool that takes effort out of GMing.

Doc

I would suggesting, for a bare minimum a Complete book and one of the martial arts books.  My suggestion for a supers game would be Champions Complete and the Ultimate Martial Artist.  

I suggest the Ultimate Martial Artist because it has several maneuvers not in the Completes/6e1/6e2 and a lot of real world styles that players gravitate to.

For a deluxe list, BUY EVERYTHING!  Muahahahahahaha!  :snicker:

Seriously, beyond the two, buy what you think you might benefit from.

5 minutes ago, Doc Democracy said: