Jump to content

cptpatriot

HERO Member
  • Content Count

    701
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About cptpatriot

  • Rank
    Friend of the Hero System & Kickstarter Supporter
  • Birthday 05/02/1966

Contact Methods

  • Skype
    cptpatriot

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Brooklyn, NY, USA
  • Interests
    Superhero Roleplay with the Hero System & the Mighty Protectors

Recent Profile Visitors

515 profile views
  1. cptpatriot

    This Week in MMOs

    Been trying to see who plays to see if we can try getting together to play.
  2. cptpatriot

    This Week in MMOs

    So, how many people are still playing Champions Online here?
  3. I think it comes down to genre tropes. The Flash or other superspeedsters routinely disarm large groups because it's a trope of the genre. For the same reason, you don't tend to see major heroes or villains getting disarmed.
  4. I'm late to this thread, but: a pistol in a purse could be considered Concealed for detection purposes where you would force a Perception check before being able to do anything against the pistol. another way to potentially buy the holster could be to buy off part of the Focus limitation as a power but limit it to provide conditions where you can still get at the pistol.
  5. cptpatriot

    Alter-Ego

    Accidental Change sounds good because, in this case, it's a mental change, not a physical one. The chance the change occurs is based on how the roleplay between the GM playing the symbiote and the player go. The activation roll chosen affects how strong one side is over the other. The GM could give a modifier to the activation roll based on how strong their side's motivation is. Enraged could be used to have the symbiote lash out at whatever triggered it in the first place.
  6. cptpatriot

    What happens when a combat precog runs out of options?

    Do you feel the forced test conditions might be a situation where she's doing the equivalent of "Burning Stun" ? I'm not sure I understand what you mean by 'Psionic Code of Ethics' in this case. I can see that her mind might be strained by looking for more options that aren't there and that causing her power to be flashed. That poses a question: how much of a limit is a power or group of powers that can be affected as a Sense vs Flash attacks, in this case Mental Senses? Freestyle is the precog, but I don't remember the issues. So, you are suggesting trying to resist the torture. Let's hope her Resistance roll works out. True about the flavor. Funny thing, I've actually done the memory wipe with this character before, but in that case it was dealing with a painful part of her background.
  7. I was looking over my characters when I reached a character of mine named Psi-kick. She is a combat precog martial arts practitioner with telepathy, but what happens if she ends up in a position where her precognitive foresight shows her very few options. This came up in a roleplay session where Psi-kick was captured by a villain that wanted to test the extent of her combat precognition. She is strapped down and completely immobilized and she can see a display. If she calls out the number that will be shown on that display she can avoid being shocked. The villain then gradually increases the time between when the shock would be delivered and when the display reveals the code to avoid being shocked. I came up with this as she didn't have any other distractions so she could focus on the most immediate threat. Are there any Complications or other comments that might be appropriate for the character?
  8. cptpatriot

    Sailor Senshi in Hudson City

    Maybe they adapt, start running around with thongs and micro-skirts and their powers kill people because of the hate in their hearts.
  9. cptpatriot

    Can I take a recovery?

    I opt to Hold my Action until Steve rules at:
  10. cptpatriot

    Need some help building powers

    Assuming the Portal Gun from the Portal game you'll also need to limit the teleport to only allow movement from the 2 floating points and only against appropriate surfaces.
  11. cptpatriot

    Can I take a recovery?

    I suppose the question is: Can 'opting to do nothing' be considered an action for the purposes of being able to abort? Technically, you have not acted yet because you planned to do a Recovery, but planning to do a Recovery is not the same as actually doing it. Because you planned to do a Recovery, your Dex hasn't come up for purposes of Initiative. Something similar occurs when you have a character with Lightning Reflexes. Character has the following: Dex 1 +9 Dex, Not if Recovering +10 Lightning Reflexes for Megablast, then when Dex 20 comes up on the Initiative order, the player opts to not act because he is not firing the Megablast. If at this point between his opting to not fire his Megablast and his action of Dex 10, he can abort that phase's action because he has not acted in that segment yet. When Dex 10 comes up, he can perform any legal action, if he opts to do so but let's say he chooses not to act, then at this point he can only perform a Recovery at Dex 1, but he has not acted yet this segment, he is limited to using his action to only recover when Dex 1 comes up, but if he needs to abort before declaring at Dex 1 that he's recovering then since he has not acted in this segment he can opt to abort to his defensive action on his NEXT phase as this segment is not available to use for initiating his defensive action. I hope that clarifies things.
  12. cptpatriot

    Can I take a recovery?

    Unfortunately, some of those statements are in error. "I wait for Slope Hoke..." would be considered a Held Action and prevent you from taking a Recovery at Dex 1. "I wait for my teammate Way Fermi to act on DEX 3..." is also considered a Held Action. "Slope Hoke blocked me last phase..." is valid and you would have to wait until his action before you can do anything Citation: 6E2 20, 1st Column
  13. It's rare that I get into rules discussions like this @ https://www.herogames.com/forums/topic/97285-can-i-take-a-recovery/

  14. cptpatriot

    Can I take a recovery?

    Let me explain my PoV. You have a character at Dex 1 with Dex +9, Not if taking a recovery. When Dex 10 comes up in the order, assuming you have not done anything before that point and haven't been stunned from an attack, you need to declare at that moment to your GM, "GM, I'm Dex 1 this phase and doing nothing," then you are committed to either a Recovery or an Abort action. After your declaration: If you abort between Dex 10 and Dex 1, you cannot use this phase's action to abort since you have chosen to do nothing and it cannot be considered a Held Phase. You would need to abort your next phase's action. If you are Stunned between Dex 10 and Dex 1, you are unable to recover from being Stunned since you can only take a Recovery at Dex 1 which is not the same as "recovering from being Stunned" citing the actions table on 6E2 23. You are forced into Recovering from being Stunned as your next phase action. Guys, please tell me if this interpretation of the rules is incorrect.
  15. cptpatriot

    Can I take a recovery?

    It relates to what was said about buying back your Dex to 1 so you can potentially recover without being attacked and buying your Dex back up to a level to be used for all your other activities.
×