Jump to content

xylden76

HERO Member
  • Content count

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About xylden76

  • Rank
    Newbie

Recent Profile Visitors

167 profile views
  1. Hello, I seek to clarify some rules trouble at my table regarding attacking from behind. I've done a search in three forums for "Behind" but came up nothing, so here goes... At my table, as we've played in the past, anytime someone has a shot at your back, that PC/NPC is at half DCV to that attacker. A player brought up a decent point that as of yet I cannot refute. We cannot find any concrete description as to what behind means, and 6E2, 37 has the DCV modifier table listing 'attacked from behind' with the 'surprised' tag attached to it, but nothing indicating 'behind' as a standalone modifier. Now enter my counter argument - enter Defense Maneuver I. 6E1, 74. "No attacker is considered to be attacking from behind." This statement leads me to believe that behind is at any point, 'surprised' notwithstanding. To me it indicates that it's harder to avoid attacks originating from the rear as it's harder to perceive the attacks. It also indicates to me that otherwise, Defense Maneuver I serves no purpose, as why would you spend a half phase action to activate this power IF it only prevents you from being surprised, which has it's own category of rules. In addition, the first para of 6E1, 75 states "a character with Defense Maneuver (at any level) can still be Surprised. Def Man eliminates the possibility of being attacked from behind, it does not make a character immune to being surprised. I think this is the most concrete evidence there is to support my claim. is there anything else out there that I'm missing, in support of either arguement? lastly, what would the 'behind' scenario entail? On a clock scale, would it be the 5-7 or 4-8? thanks in advance!
  2. xylden76

    PSLs in my Dark Champions Campaign

    Surrealone, thanks for your reply, gives us a lot to think about. But given your outlined procedures above, essentially you are saying that: Given DCV 6, I want to use Multi Attack to strike two different targets, knowing that I will have an adjusted DCV 3 (for using MA). I can then buy CSLs to return to DCV 6, but apparently vs ranged only?
  3. Reading the PSLs description in 6E1, 87, it doesn't appear that we can use PSLs to 'reduce the 1/2 DCV penalty' induced on things like using Multi-Attack or to offset a particular Combat Maneuver. Is this correct? i'm having a discussion at our table and half say it is, while others like me believe it is not possible. thoughts?
  4. xylden76

    Discord Channel

    Does Herogames have a discord channel? If so, can I get the link? If not I think it'll really expedite the transfer of information for gamers.
  5. As I recall, an attack action ends your phase. However, in 5e, you could use Rapid Attack to shoot first, then move. This no longer appears to be the case in 6e. Is there any way to make an attack action, like firing a pistol and then moving?
×