Champions Background

Sveta8

No, for once, this isn't a question about building a good background for a character. Rather, I am new to Champions, and have fallen in love with it's universal system. Not the system of it's universe mind, but how the system allows generation of nearly everything under and inside of the sun. And probably more if you put your mind to it it. Lacking either a group to play with yet, or a world to delve into either, I am curious about the universe as a whole. Or rather...

There seems to be a collective set of history and information about Champions that is garnered both through experience and understanding. Currently lacking both, I am trying to figure out where I might look to start building understanding of the world. Or rather, the traditional systems for Champions. Millennium City. VIPER, UNITY, Dr Destroyer, so on. While each campaign I've seen mentioned seems to have a fair bit of build up upon the root world described, there seems to be a base underlying... system. Game World or such. Where can I find information about it? How deep in the rabbit hole does it go, and how can I find it?

Yes, there is variation between editions, but I hardly know what it is varying, let alone what the consequences of what is varied. Forgive me for being inexperienced, I have never dealt with Superhero... media in any real sense beyond a casual viewing of movies or such. But, I want to dig deep and see what is there. Where should I go? I have no doubt there are a multiplicity of options and sources, such is the nature of superhero media, and the end result varies wildly depending on such, but at least that would give me an idea of where to start.

If you're looking to purchase some Champions books, there's a large variety of books on this site's store and several of the authors are regulars in these forums. You can browse through the list and ask for recommendations out of the books which seem likely.