Do you limit Combat Skill Level's?

Gandalf970

I am relatively new to Hero.  I have been running many RPG's for 40+ years and recognize min/maxers and power creeps.  My players are masters as I am sure yours are as well.  My question for Fantasy Hero is do you limit CSL's?  My players have figured out that if they buy 3 pt CSL's and not OCV/DCV straight up they save points.  I don't want to punish them, but they are running around with 12 levels of these.  Any thoughts or experiences would be helpful.

Yes, you do need to limit CSLs to keep within campaign boundaries, otherwise you end up in an arms race. I don't have my books in front of me, but in 6th Edition I believe CSLs will only affect ranged DCV when they are 8-point or better in cost. It is my understanding that martial arts DCV bonuses other than for Dodge don't increase DCV either. Archers should be able to pincushion your PCs.

Here are two suggestions for keeping things under control:

1) Have them buy OCV/DCV that is for either HTH Only or Ranged Only. This is a -1 Limitation, so they get +2 OCV or +2 DCV for five points. This lets PCs specialize in range or HTH combat a bit.

2) Suggest Deadly Blow or Weapon Mastery for damage increases instead of buying a boatload of 3-point levels.

I took a variation of an old adventurer's club Combat Effectiveness calculator (this problem has existed since the beginning of HERO) and modified it for my campaign.

It's imperfect and could use some work, but it kept things within rough constraints so the players didn't get too crazy (20x Levels with Swords, for example).

Here's an old one I used a couple of campaigns ago.Fantasy Hero Combat Effectiveness.xlsx

It is absolutely necessary to set combat limits.  Here is what I have done in my campaign.

High level explanation

• Brink/Tank type fighters
    • Characteristics:  High strength, constitution, Body, Stun & PD/ED
    • Martial Arts:  Maybe
    • CSL : No more than 4.  Can buy up to 4 overall combat levels