Hero System: Beginner friendly?

bpmasher

Hail again,

I have an opportunity to run a game session for beginning players next month, and I'm pondering whether to use Hero with an established setting or just go with the beginner sets I have accumulated (to gather dust) over the years.

Hero is such an opportunity for different genres, despite having lots of crunch. I'm wondering whether a Skyrim game or wild west stuff would go well with a new group.

Would you run Hero for complete beginners? 

Hero’s biggest plus and minus is its complexity. You can use it to do any genre in the world, but if you want to get the absolute most from your character, you’ve better have gotten an A in Algebra. 
  If however, you keep things simple, dump hit locations, ban Variable Power Pools etc. Just make it “roll three dice, did you hit?”  “Roll your damage!” You can bring your players along slowly to the more esoteric number crunches later.

Whatever version of the rules you end up using make sure the game is more about having fun than puzzling out math problems. Or else why do it.