[5edR] Endurance

Spence

As the title indicates, I am a 5th Edition Revised player.

When I started playing Hero back in the Champions 1st ed era, End cost was 1 End per 5 points.  This was later changed to 1 End per 10 points. 

For me I always go back to the 1 to 5 ratio for my games.  I  personally find it easier to use and easier to teach the game.  I don't know if there is any actual difference in the end, but it seems so to me.

Anyone else with similar experiences?

As I tend to backport everything new into 2e, I, like Spence, am still doing 1/5 for END.

Making it more challenging is that I still do Red END the old way: keep halfing it until you get to .5 for 0 END.

I like it better.  For one, it controls power leveks and power creep far, far better than any suggested campaign cap or guidelone ive seen; it keeps battles fairly brief, and not always decisive, and brings its own special sort of tactics.

But then again, I dont know much about comics, save that I have a preference for the Spiderman / Doc Savage end of the scale to the "why are they not demanding worship and tribute?" end of the scale.

I dont need universe-destroying villain power levels to keep the thrill and sense of danger real to the players, and the built-in limits of expensive END and expensive END reduction keeps the PCs themselves from being absolute threats to the nation.

I know there has for many years been discussion of Registration acts, etc (I dont use them, as I prefer a more idealized setting of a free nation with responsible citizens), but in my mind, a super with the power to level buildings with ease or do millions of dollars in collateral damage four battles a day isnt going to be forced onto a registration list: hes going to be incarcerated "for the public good" at _best_, and quietly exterminated if containment should prove impossible--  in a "we faer them, so we register them" type setting, that is.