Savage Worlds: Supers...has anyone played it?

fdw3773

I recently came across Savage Worlds Adventure Edition (SWADE) and was fairly impressed by the style and substance of this universal game system. However, reading some sample excerpts and reviews are a lot different than actual game play.

Has anyone played a superhero themed campaign for Savage Worlds? If so, how was it? I've been playing Champions on and off for around 20+ years now, and while it will always have a special place in my heart, the number-crunching of 5th and 6th has gotten old and other rules-light games like ICONS is a little too rules-light for me.

Thanks in advance! 😀

If it's the system I'm thinking of, Yes.  Played a convention game where the PCs were Victorian age expies of the Justice League.  Massively entertaining game.  I did like that the rules for breaking a structure were the same rules for hurting a character.  

However, to address the original question of balance:  I have NO idea.  It was probably my first exposure to the system, and I didn't have the rulebook to puzzle that out, or need it to play.

Chris.

I think it's a great system, overall.  In fact, I have unashamedly commented before that if HERO gets too many more "core rules",that I will chuck 40 years of gaming plesure out of the window and that Savage Worlds would become my system of choice.   Honestly,I think,I that is exactly what Kieth "coolest signature on the internet" Curtis did;  at least, i've not heard any lamentations alleged to be his own.  :lol:

It is a solud design that sees more support than today's HERO does (at least these days), is way easier to read, and way easier to carry around (id you prefer paper books.

its not HERO.  That is niether good nor bad;  it just means that one is not like the other at any point, and there is no really accurate way to compare them.