If Champions never existed, what superhero RPG would you have played (or be playing today)?

fdw3773

It was one of those "what if" questions someone asked when she found out that I had collected/played Champions in its various forms for over 30 years. For me, it would have been DC Heroes published by Mayfair Games since I played it often my first year or two in college and the game support materials were available at the various game stores I shopped (I would transition to run Champions/Fantasy Hero in the latter two). Nowadays, it would be ICONS, which I host at the local game events.

So, if Champions never existed, what superhero RPG would you have played (or be playing today)? 🤔

Probably none. I wasn't into comics when I started playing Champions. I never really fancied V&V, the other biggish superhero RPG at the time. (All FGU (Fantasy Games Unlimited) games tended to be too complicated for my tastes.)

I would have happily stayed with Fantasy (mostly D&D) and Science Fiction (mostly Traveller).

If there was no Champions but other publishers had filled the void?  

Probably either Gurps:Supers or SuperWorld.

SuperWorld had the most flexibility but no support beyond the first product. ( I loved that you could make Firestorm or Voltron with the ruleset with no modification. Duplication:Reverse)

Gurps had the support and would most likely been the market replacement for Champions.

I nevr got into V&V but I never actually saw a copy of the ruleset until I'd had 5 years with Hero. 

I got into Champions because a girl asked me to.  I was chasing after her and she was in a game and knew I was into comic books in a big way. I loved the game and stayed with it long after she and I were no more.  
   So you’ll have to ask her what game she would have been playing ‘cause she could have asked me to try laying down in traffic and I would have said OK.

2 hours ago, Grailknight said:

If there was no Champions but other publishers had filled the void?