Brainstorming: Simplified Champions

Pariah

As a high school teacher, I have just agreed to be the faculty advisor the my school's D&D Club. Mainly, that means they'll be meeting in my room, and I'll be making sure they don't set the place on fire.

Unofficially, it means that I'll have a semi-captive audience to introduce to the wonders of the Hero System. :eg: 

Now, I don't want to freak them out with the (alleged) complexity of the game. And honestly, I haven't GMed or played for about a decade, so I want to keep it simple for me, too. So here are some of my thoughts going in:

1. I'm planning to use an earlier edition of the game, probably 3rd (but maybe 4th).
  2. I'm looking at a simplified character sheet, something like what was created for Champions Begins. Specifically, I'm looking at a character sheet that shows the powers, stats, maneuvers, etc. without the character points.
  3. I'm looking seriously at ignoring END, at least at first. 
  4. I'm looking at reducing the Disads / Complication to 75 points or so. (This is the one thing I'll for sure use from 6th Ed.)
  5. I'll start with pre-generated characters (Starburst, Crusader, Seeker, Defender, Solitaire, etc.) and then work with players individually when they want something more customized.
  6. I'm considering using the Two Statements from Champions Now to set the tone for the campaign.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Recommendations? 

4 hours ago, Pariah said:

As a high school teacher, I have just agreed to be the faculty advisor the my school's D&D Club. Mainly, that means they'll be meeting in my room, and I'll be making sure they don't set the place on fire.

Unofficially, it means that I'll have a semi-captive audience to introduce to the wonders of the Hero System. :eg: 

Now, I don't want to freak them out with the (alleged) complexity of the game. And honestly, I haven't GMed or played for about a decade, so I want to keep it simple for me, too. So here are some of my thoughts going in: