Jump to content

FH - Spell Question

Recommended Posts

First off let me explain that I do not own FH, but I own the Grimoire for other reasons.


There is a paragraph in the Grimoire that states.


All Attack spells must take the -1/2 Spell limintation from FH page 246.


Could someone please tell me what this limitation is.


I need to know if I should continue to use it or if I need to rework every Attack spell in the book.


Thanks in advance.



Link to post
Share on other sites

Re: FH - Spell Question


It is an optional limitation that has to do with the ground rules that most magic systems use. For instance you can not usually use martial arts with most spells. A lot of optional combat modifiers are not normally part of spells (Blaze away, Rapid fire, Snap shot, etc.) Normally Fantasy Hero campaigns do not allow for spells to be used for multiple power attacks. You have to study, or at least make the pretense, to rationalize your use of spells.


The (-1/2) limitation is used for most spells to indicate that they have these inherent limitations. Unusual spells that are not subject to these limitations should either not have this limitation or have a reduced version if only partially limited.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Re: FH - Spell Question


Yea, but that's more of a special effects issue. The Spell limitation is primarily for taking away some of the options you'd usually have for attack powers.


You can have spells that don't need to have the Spell limitation, although I know it sounds weird. For example, spells that let you see in the dark or shapechange or heal wounds wouldn't need the limitation, but would still be cancelled by an anti-magic field of some sort.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Create New...