Jump to content

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CorPse

f/u Grab: Throwing & Squeezing after initial Grab

Recommended Posts

Steve, thanks as always for your speedy reply... just had a quick follow-up:

 

you wrote...

 

"2. If the Attack Roll for a Throw following a Grab fails, the effects are as noted on 5ER 387. That also means missing any additional “target†the victim was Thrown at (such as a specific hex or another character). The GM can determine where the Thrown character lands using the rules for misses area-affecting attacks or whatever other method seems appropriate to him."

 

So, if either roll fails does the Grabbed character end up as 5ER 387 describes (remains on his feet, etc.) or only if the Grabber blows his Attack Roll to initiate the Throw?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Re: f/u Grab: Throwing & Squeezing after initial Grab

 

I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "either" roll. If a character attempts a Grab and misses, he's never going to get to the "Throw" stage of things in the first place, so the Throw rules don't come into play. Only if the character has to make an Attack Roll with his Throw -- either to perform it at all, or if he's trying to hit a specific target with the Thrown character/object -- are the "miss" rules going to come into play.

 

If what you're asking is, "Can a character Throw a Grabbed person in an effort to hit another target (such as another character or a specific hex), miss that target, but still inflict Throw damage on the Thrown person?", then the answer is "No." There aren't any provisions in the rules for that; a miss is a miss. The GM could alter that if he likes, but generally the rules don't let a character miss/fail and still obtain some measure of success.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...