Need Ideas and Background for a DC One-Shot

Spideyguy

Herodom Assembled,

My strong suite as a GM is being able to write well, but one my areas of improvement is my creativity. Hence, I'm enlisting your help. I'm doing a one-shot game (that could actually run a few evenings if necessary) at GenCon this year for two of my best friends. I'd really like it to turn out well, so that it's memorable for all.

I have some background ideas for what I'd like to do, but am hoping that you all can give me some ideas on how to make the story and background better. So here goes:

PCs: Probably 125-150 + 50-100 pts in disadvanges (these will be beginning Daredevil and Spidey-like characters, but no EBs, teleporting, etc.)

Tone: Will probably be fairly gritty and dark, set in Hudson City or a similar concrete jungle. Players will probably have Code v. Killing, but it will be fairly "bendable".

Opposition: Mostly "normal" goons and mooks, mixed in with the occasional highly skilled lieutenant or boss. On very rare occasions, they might meet up with someone like themselves.

Background: I'm picturing the world as kind of a post Kingdom Come or Dark Knight Returns. Blatant super heroes have been gone for about 75 years. When the supers first appeared in the world, they were a novelty, and they served humanity for about 15 years. However, the humans eventually became concerned about the supers' powers, and started to knowingly try and decrease their numbers.

Some were arrested and "vanished", others died fighting each other, and yet some were out and out elminated by the less scrupulous agencies of the world governments. Eventually, the superhumans were outlawed altogether, and the few that actually remained at large disappeared among humanity's ranks, never to don their colorful tights again.