Power cost calculator?

TheDux

So I am new to Hero System. Like all new RPGs I like to make some sample/test characters to get use to creation system. I am having an issue with power costs with modifiers.

I am not bad at math, I am pretty decent with math, but I think I am missing something with power costs.

So what I am looking for is an article/formula/calculator/explanation/math lesson.

I would like to get this down without a calculator. But I would like to get a calculator for quick and accurate calculations once I start doing more powers/characters.

Thanks in advance.

NOTE: Like I said I think I am missing something. This happens from time to time with math for me. I miss one detail and I am lost.

Re: Power cost calculator?

Hero Designer is great if you are GM for making PC's and NPC's.

For players a calculator or a GM with Hero Designer is great.

I created four characters for my Pulp game with Hero Designer in about 1.5 hours (by using prefabs and pre-design skill packages).

Add the base points together, including adders. Multiply by (1 + Total Advantage Multipliers). Divide this total by (1 + Total Disad Multipliers' absolute value). The result is your Real Cost.

Energy Blast: 5 Points per die. A 2d6 EB is therefore 10 Points.

Armor Piercing: +1/2, or 0.5. 10 x 1.5 = 15.

OAF -- Obvious Accessible Focus, like a gun -- is -1. So 15 / (1 + 1) = 15 / 2 = 7. (Always round down in HERO.)

So your 2d6 Armor-Piercing EB Gun will cost 7 points.

For doing Power Costs by hand, break it down into three steps:

Base Cost

Active Cost

Real Cost

Base Cost:

We'll take Teleport as an example, so I can demonstrate Adders.

6 Inches of Teleport costs 12 Points, the Adder x2 Non-Combat Movement is +5 Points.

Your Base Cost is 12 + 5 = 17 Points.

Active Point Cost:

Formula - [base Cost * (1 + Sum of Advantage Values)]

If you are applying no Advantages your Active Points = Base Points (Base Cost * 1).