Noob here...

Brence

So as you might have guessed Im new to the Hero system, as such hope someone can awnser a few quik Q's.

-What books do I need to run and play a game?

-Does anyone have a good online store to buy them from for Europe? (Dutchie here)

Also what do you really like about the system? What would make this the best game for Hero RPG's? :)

Re: Noob here...

So as you might have guessed Im new to the Hero system, as such hope someone can awnser a few quik Q's.

-What books do I need to run and play a game?

-Does anyone have a good online store to buy them from for Europe? (Dutchie here)

For someone who's never played Hero System, teh new basic book is a good start, more advanced games you will likely want to get the two Core books of 6E: Character Creation and 6E: Combat and Adventuring.

If you can't find it through a local game store, the Hero Games online store ships anywhere for free.

Also what do you really like about the system? What would make this the best game for Hero RPG's? :)

What do I like? Well, that in of itself would take an entire book itself, LOL

But fundamentally it is because of its toolkit nature. The ability to create the exact game that I want to play with the framework and tools supplied by the core books.

Thanks for the quik reply's. Being a avid RP gamer myself (including my group) I think that its safe to say that we might as well plunge into the 2 Core Books for the advanced edition, also is there a certain default setting or is it all "Up to you" styled? I mean does Hero Games have its own default setting for the game?

Hero has several 'default settings'. It also has plenty of supported genres.

In general, a genre book helps you tweak the Hero System rules to suit the genre, and has lots of advice on creating your own setting.

A setting book assumes you have the relevant genre book, and supplies a pre-created 'official' setting.