New to Champions advice on what books to get needed please

shuttler

Hi

I'm fairly new to RPG in general and brand new to Champions.

I'm a big comic fan and a big post apocalyptic fan so am interested to get started with Champions in a few ways.

I want to be able to play in a 'traditional' superhero style world with classic style heroes and I may also want to play in a post apocalyptic setting.

I see there is a post apocalyptic book so would probably get that, but what is the core stuff i need to get my hands on? and what are good campaigns and source books for the other bits.

Appreciate the help

Re: New to Champions advice on what books to get needed please

Well, the 6th Edition of the game was just released. There are some changes from the 5th Edition. But there isn't much out for 6th Edition, yet.

Assuming you want to start with the 6th Edition: To run a game you will need both 6th Edition books (6E1 and 6E2). Those are technically all you will NEED.

From there it depends on how much work you want to do yourself. If you want to create a world from scratch, the rest is up to you.

Otherwise, Hero has a system where they release one genre book (eg Fantasy Hero) and then releases a campaign book (eg Valdorian Age) that describes a setting for use with the genre book. Depending on how Post-Apoc you want to go a mix of a couple of genres might fit your needs best.

The Champions setting book as well as the Champions Super Powers book are set to release very soon...I believe the Champions setting book is at the printers right now. Both will give you all kinds of help getting your superhero campaign going.

As for the Post Apoc book, it is certainly one of the finest books Hero Games has put out and even though it is written for 5th Edition, it has very few actual mechanics in it, instead focusing primarily on the Post Apoc genre and giving oodles of advice on how to run myriad types of Post-Apoc settings.