The move to FTP

archermoo

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Re: The move to FTP

Anyone have thoughts on the move of CO to FTP?

Personally, I think it's happening too soon and this spells the death for significant new content in the game. I also wonder how hard it was for players to deal with the power structure, as "I'm confused on how to make a character", for all of the complexity of its character scheme, was never high on the list of complaints I heard.

However, I'm looking forward to the zone revamps, and I know, with Cata., SWTOR, DCUO and GW2 on the horizon, that 2011 would be a hard year for existing MMOs to compete.

Depends how they handle it. I have a lifetime subscription, but don't play much these days. In theory, the FTP model raises more revenue then the subscription one. The "free" play is more like an extended trial, and they can nickel and dime you for more then you would normally pay if you buy things ala cart, or just subscribe. I know LotRO went FTP, and I think that went quite well (lifer there as well). Think of it as them offering more options, rather then them screwing paying customers.

One thing LotRO has, which CO does not look they are going to have, is a way to earn store points in game. This gives free players the ability to earn things (like more quest packs, character slots, etc.) so given enough time and work, they can be just as good as the paying customers. And by "time and work" I'm talking about grinding till your eyes bleed, but the option is there (particularly if you just want some of the perks, not all) With the CO plan it looks like the world will always be divided into haves and have-nots. Free players are always going to be at a disadvantage. This will make it hard to integrate them into the community.