Jump to content
  • 0

VPP and Focus


Question

Steve, can the Focus limitation be applied to a VPP twice as both a VPP-only modifier and a common modifier to effect each slot? For example, a Cleric cannot change his Magic VPP without assembling his holy candles (IIF, Arrangement; -1/2). Once the VPP is configured, the slots themselves do not use the candles as a focus but they do they other spell components (OIF, Expendable; -1). In this case can the total -1 1/2 count towards reducing the VPP control cost, but only the -1 OIF apply to each slot?

 

Thanks.

Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

Not exactly. What you do here is what’s done with a number of published characters: you take Focus as a Limitation on the Control Cost, and define it as “all slots in VPP must have up to X value of this Limitation.” You set X at the minimum level desired (-½ in your example), but then take Focus at a higher level (-1, in your example) for slots that need it. That allows some variability, but doesn’t precisely allow what you’re suggesting. However, under the “special effects” principle, the GM might allow you to define the special effects of this rule as being what you describe.

 

In the end you're getting most of what you want, but not double-dipping Focus on the Control Cost, which I suspect many GMs would object to regardless.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...