CO questions

Patriot

I started playing it again on and off after CoH was killed off.

It's entertaining for a bit. CoH was much better for teaming and feeling like part of a community (at least for me), while CO is better for solo play. It has some fun story arcs. But, it just doesn't grip me the way CoH did.

I finally got around to getting a character to 40 recently. It was anticlimactic. In CoH, the game basically started at 50 (max level)...there was a lot of endgame content. In CoH my character didn't feel any different at 40 than he did at 30. I use all the same powers, I just picked up a few more situational clicks which I pretty much never need to use...and usually forget to use when they would actually be useful as they just kind of sit there on my power tray. Because of the lockouts (1 slotted passive, 1 toggled form, shared cooldowns on many clicks), there really isn't much use in getting more powers once you have your basic set locked in.

Similarly, you get a second travel power eventually but you can only use one or the other at any given time...which in some cases makes sense but not in others (for instance, I would like my Athletics user to be able to use his swingline fluidly, but i have to either stop and click and then swing or land stop and toggle athletics depending on which mode I'm in).

They added vehicles a while back and while its cool conceptually, given that most supers are already quite fast and can fly if they want to take the power, its pretty redundant.