Can't decide on Hero 6e or Gurps 4e

smount83

I am new to GMing,

I am also new to both of these systems,

I am planning on creating a Sci Fi setting from scratch.

I know this will be a lot of work, and reading. I have asked the people who are wanting to play in this game ( which we are aiming to be playing a long time ) many questions about what they want. These are a few types of things they want.

A quick and understandable battle system ( after being learned, of course ),

Highly adaptable character creation,

More of a 'Role Playing' type game, ( more Star Trek, than Star Wars )

Limited or no reduced abilities from damage.

I have collaborated on homemade RPGs and got tired of the lack of a stable game system to develop stories with. I am planning for this to be a long term project so any recommendations would help ( I hope, anyways )

Also, if I do decide on Hero, which book should I start with Hero System 6th basic or Champions Complete

If you're gonna do a science fiction setting, I'd strongly recommend picking up Star Hero. Even if you go with gurps, Star Hero will be a useful resource. The reverse is also true; I've found gurps Space useful even though I don't play gurps. And the planetology info in gurps Traveller's First In (the Imperial Scout Service book) is second to none.

(Also, you might want to go check out all the awesome SF settings from Blackwyrm Games.)

I'll pitch in my two cents, coming from someone who has played Hero System since the mid-80s. I've also played GURPS among many other systems.

Hero does have a quick and understandable combat system, and I've been able to explain it to new players in only a few minutes.

Hero has the most adaptable character creation system that I've ever seen. It is also the most balanced system that I know of if you want to get in "under the hood" and create homebrew abilities and special setting rules that will mesh with the standard rules.