How complete is the book?

I'm a newbie to the Hero system, haven't bought other books than Dark Champions years ago, but I'm planning to get into the game seriously. Monster Hunter International seems like a good starting point, but how complete is it in terms of rules and character options and such? Is it really a stand-alone book for a new GM to pick up for example?

Monster Hunter International contains the same version of the rules as the HERO System Basic Rulebook plus copious setting information on running a monster hunting game set in the universe of the books of the same name.

If you want access to a few more options and copious example builds you should see the links to the full 2 book set listed here: 

http://www.herogames.com/forums/store/category/2-hero-system-6th-edition/

Champions Complete contains a condensed version of the full 6e1 and 6e2 books minus all the copious examples and maybe 1% of the rules AND info to run a game in the Superhero genre (an all in one product similar in that regard to MHI)

The forthcoming Fantasy Hero Complete (currently in Kickstarter @104% of goal with just a few days to go) will likely follow this same basic outline of Champions Complete except for the Fantasy genre.

I'm a newbie to the Hero system, haven't bought other books than Dark Champions years ago, but I'm planning to get into the game seriously. Monster Hunter International seems like a good starting point, but how complete is it in terms of rules and character options and such? Is it really a stand-alone book for a new GM to pick up for example?

MHI refers to some skills and powers in its NPC and monster write ups that aren't described in the basic Hero System rules included in the book (Teamwork, Restant Advantage, etc.).