Character generation confusion.

Tassyr

So I'm new to the whole HERO system; I cut my teeth on Pathfinder/GURPS. This is my first attempt to use this thing and the sheer amount of stats makes my head swim a bit. I'm getting past that, sort of, but the big problem I'm hitting is... what's a reasonable stat?

I mean technically I can crank these things through the roof at chargen, but I have no idea what a 'good starting template' would be. I checked out the MHI Hunter template, but that seems relatively... weak... somehow.

I have -no- idea what number values to shoot for! Help!

Here's a quick version.

The 'average' normal has a characteristic of 8 for STR through PRE.  Player characters get the boost to a 10 base in those stats for 'free'.  Through a score of 20 the stats match up pretty close to old AD&D 1&2e stats (I don't know how that compares to D&D3.x/Pathfinder though).  The basic rule of thumb is that anything over 30 for those stats is clearly in Supers territory.  20-30 is exceptional but not out of the question for normals (Bruce Lee arguably had a 30 Dex and 6 SPD, at least in this 5e version).

Here's a quick version.

The 'average' normal has a characteristic of 8 for STR through PRE.  Player characters get the boost to a 10 base in those stats for 'free'.  Through a score of 20 the stats match up pretty close to old AD&D 1&2e stats (I don't know how that compares to D&D3.x/Pathfinder though).  The basic rule of thumb is that anything over 30 for those stats is clearly in Supers territory.  20-30 is exceptional but not out of the question for normals (Bruce Lee arguably had a 30 Dex and 6 SPD, at least in this 5e version).

So for a char based on heavy guns and melee, str cranked up to 20 would be... good? Underpowered? Overpowered? I know I can't get to 30 at chargen, but.

For most characters, a 15 STR would probably be sufficient, allowing you to use most guns without a penalty and do an extra die of normal damage in punches/kicks.