Yondu's Arrow in 5E

g3taso

Loved Guardians of the Galaxy, and Yondu's Arrow was a favorite. 

I thought I might create it as a weapon, and I initially came up with  Yondu's Arrow: RKA 1d6 (standard effect: 3 BODY, 6 STUN), Penetrating (+1/2), Area Of Effect (2" Radius; +1), Selective (+1/4) (41 Active Points); 1 Recoverable Charge (-1 1/4)

I thought it might be nifty to try it as a follower. Any suggested builds? I'm new to buildings computers, bases and so forth. Suggested builds would be helpful.

This only makes sense if it's something like AoE: 1m, Accurate, I think?

Well my thinking is that he hits everything in an area, so you roll to hit once and everyone gets it.  How many times does someone miss an AE attack anyway?  If its a big enough area, missing by a hex or two doesn't even matter.

• I agree with the AoE Selective, Accurate -- since he does, indeed, use the arrow to hit only friendlies ... en masse.

I also agree on the Focus requirement -- it's definitely an OIF in the movies -- especially given the need for the control fin which, if damaged, renders the arrow unusable.

The control fin appears to be breakable and replaceable, so I think those should play into the arrow (i.e. requires control fin Limitation)...

There's also definitely skill involved in commanding the arrow, as we see at the end of the second movie when someone other than Yondu is learning.  This suggests a 'Requires a Roll' limitation.

Also, how often do you see Yondu doing other things while he's commanding the arrow?  i.e. Doesn't he usually stay put (or occasionally walk) while the arrow moves about doing its work?  If so, then there's probably at least a 1/2 DCV Concentration component to the arrow's use (if walking) ... or possibly even 0 DCV Concentration if he must remain still.

• I agree with the AoE Selective, Accurate -- since he does, indeed, use the arrow to hit only friendlies ... en masse.