Jump to content
phydaux

How does decapitation work?

Recommended Posts

One of the major tropes of the monster hunter genera is that a normal human armed with only a simple sword can be a threat to huge nasty beastie because with one blow he can decapitate the meanest werewolf or vampire.  

 

So how does decapitation a head or severing a limb work in Hero?  Called Shot penalty, sure.  When does the head/limb get cut off?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Generally in heroic games, you take x2 Body from a hit to the head.  If you kill somebody with a head shot, I'd say that might count as decapitating them.

 

You might give monsters that have Defenses defined as "instant regeneration", and put a limitation on those defenses that says "not vs cutting attacks to head/neck that do enough Body to kill creature".  I'd probably give it a -1/2 limitation (doesn't come up very often, but when it does it really sucks).  Special effect is that you're dead before you have a chance to regenerate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It used to be 1x Body before or after the multiplier to impair and 2x Body before or after the multiplier to disable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, phydaux said:

See, that doesn't make and sense.  If I inflict twice someone's BODY in one attack they aren't disabled, their DEAD.  

Well rules are rules so let’s not lose our head over it. 😁 Sorry I couldn’t resist the bad pun!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

An impairing wound is when you take ½ or greater of your body before or after the multiplier.  Disabling is if you took full body before or after the multiplier. This rule is the same in 6th edition as it was in earlier editions.  It is also suggested that unimportant thugs and NPCs should be considered dead if they receive a disabling wound for faster game play. 

 

I would consider a disabling wound to the head to have decapitated an unimportant NPC.  For a PC or important NPC they are only decapitated if they roll a 6 on the disabling chart and fail the CON roll.  If any character is outright killed by a head shot they could be considered decapitated. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regardless of optional rules, any attack which causes enough damage to the target's head to kill them outright could be called a decapitation. I would include the caveat that certain weapons just might not be able to cause the right kind of injuries to actually sever limbs even when they do cause enough damage (like a shiv).

 

I'm familiar with the Impairing/Disabling rules, which are fine but don't really represent severing limbs well (or decapitation at all). I could have sworn there was a 6th Edition optional rule for Severing Limbs which triggered upon taking BODY Damage equal to your BODY Score (before or after Hit Locations). Which meant decapitation was always lethal, but you could probably survive having both of your legs chopped off (assuming you aren't left to bleed to death). However I cannot find it now...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Given it's a trope of the genre... I'd actually set it where it's a moderately accomplishable goal within the campaign ... how much damage does a typical person do with a weapon. If you can normally get 2-3 Body past defenses, which doubles to 4-6 Body... then unless you've got a particularly tough monster; maybe call it 5 Body will decapitate most monsters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×