Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Mr. R

Delayed activation

Recommended Posts

I remember a modifier that limited the amount of spells you could cast to a certain amount, usually Int/5.  It was for any campaign where the caster had extra time to cast the spell (IE at least 5 minutes), so you prepared all but the last bit.  I believe it was called stacking your rack.


Is it still in 5th/6th ed.?


Is it based on per spell or was it you prepared 20 spells, but you could only cast four (or eight if you doubled the rack).


By based on spell I mean you get the limitation and that means you can cast that spell four times.


Or is it a limitation on Int?


Please advise!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

There are all sorts of variant rules for this in both 5E and 6E Fantasy HERO books.  Some were "spells active" = INT/5, ie. any spells with a duration, some had spells know based on INT, etc.  


I'd have to dig through, as I...  definitely diverged from such for my magic system ("spells active" in mine being based on the VPP rules, nothing arbitrary.)

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Create New...