Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sorloc

Multiform with equipment

Recommended Posts

5th edition fantasy,

I cannot find where the rules state what happens to equipment / clothing when a character uses multiform...

Can anyone help with a game-approved answer?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure there are specific rules for this; each form follows the campaign norms.  Any equipment used by any form would need the appropriate proficiency skill bought for that form if applicable, etc.  

 

I had some multiform critters in my fantasy campaigns, but none that used equipment IIRC.  So I can't say I've tested this in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The closest statement I've found that addresses this in in 5th Edition Revised, Page 211:

 

"A character’s forms do not get to “share” anything for free. If a character’s true form has some resource or object, such as a Base or a Vehicle, his alternate forms also have to pay for it if they want to use it. Otherwise, it disappears or somehow becomes inaccessible to them."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Sorloc said:

Specifically, the character turns into a bird. 

What happens to clothes, armor, weapons, etc?

 

I would say they could not use any equipment not specifically designed for a bird.  Their gear might transform with them, or it might not, depending on the GM's take on how that works.

I like to @#$% with my players on such things, so multiform or shapeshift do NOT affect what they are wearing in my campaigns.  :evil:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I think this is handled on a case by case basis when there's no points involved...like normal clothes.  If points are involved, then the rules say each form has to pay the points.

 

Literature and comics go both ways.  Werewolves, for example, often trash their clothing, especially in a hybrid form that's usually rather larger than human;  but a shapeshift spell often just says the clothes et al. just disappear while transformed, then reappear.  Note that this applies to things on the shifter when the shift occurs...a cell phone sitting on the table never transforms.  Fnally, you'll see "shifter clothing" quite a bit, and that's generally a freebie.  Cuz this covers the Growth and Shrinking types.  GMs may do this just to avoid adding an implicit Complication onto these.  Now, that said...if the Shift is a curse like Lycanthropy...then trashing the clothing is more fitting.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...