Small Guns how would I build that they are hard to notice and find if hidden on the person?

tigersloth

Hey guys, In 5th Edition, I a starting to build some basic Star Wars blasters and guns and I wanted to simulate somehow that a small holdout pistol is hard to notice if hidden on a person carrying it?

Should this just be a small special effect of small guns or can I build it somehow into the mechanics of the gun.

Thoughts would be great thank you.

I'm relatively new to the system, but I would start by looking at how some other weapons/equipment were built.  For example, from the 5E Equipment guide, "realistic" silencers (of various qualities) were built using Change Environment (-X to Hearing PER Rolls).  "Cinematic" silencers were built using Invisible to Hearing Group (scaled based upon the active points in the gun start at a 10 Active Point gun and going up to a 100 Active Point gun).

Don't try to build it into the gun.  Instead, have the character make a Concealment roll when placing the weapon on his/her body and use the result of that roll (in contested fashion, if desired) to determine how concealed the weapon is.

I suggest this approach because strapping a holdout piece to one's ankle, concealing a firearm in an IWB holster, and slinging an Uzi or shotgun under one's coat -- and moving about with such things equipped … all have one thing in common: a degree of skill when it comes to clothing choices, precise position on the body, and movement with the concealed weapon in place.