Pseudo-magic Sword "Arts"

Octotroph

I've been knocking some ideas around for a new character that use techniques that begin or end with an attack. I've been using Divinity: Original Sin 2, Dark Souls, Sword Art Online, and some other things as inspiration, but I'm not experienced enough with the system to properly replicate my mental images. Here's what I'm thinking of:

D:OS2 Scoundrel Skill Backlash: teleport behind a target and execute an attack with your weapon.

"Vanishing Blade": after successfully executing an attack, turn invisible until you attack again.

"Exploding Edge": imbue your weapon with explosive power that releases upon impact.

"Lethal Dance": make an attack against each enemy adjacent to you.

Some of these could be pulled off with triggers, like Exploding Edge and Vanishing Blade, but Vanishing Blade has the "until you attack again" stipulation that I couldn't find. With Backlash, I want to prevent using the teleport freely. And with all of them, I don't want to use a generic HKA. This way if you get a better weapon your damage wouldn't be hurting as much. I expect a bit of a penalty would be added so regular attacks or martial arts would still be viable. I would love to hear your thoughts.

I think I can help you, in spite of having _no idea_ about any of your listed source material.  Thank you for spelling out precisely what it is you want to achieve: that makes doing this so much easier. :)

So let's being with my own suggestions, and I'm sure others will pop in as they have the time. These are great people. :D

19 hours ago, Octotroph said:

D:OS2 Scoundrel Skill Backlash: teleport behind a target and execute an attack with your weapon.