Level With Me

Sean Waters

So, I was looking at combat levels and I learned something new.  Levels with ranged attacks do not add to your DCV against HtH attacks and vice versa:

Characters can use one CSL costing 3 or more Character Points as a +1 DCV against the same types of attacks (HTH or Ranged) for which the CSL could increase OCV. For example, a CSL with swordfighting could increase DCV in HTH Combat (against any type of HTH attack), but not in Ranged Combat.

I say I learned something new, I have no idea when that rule came in or if I have always been doing it wrong (it was certainly in FRED, but I don’t know about before that), but, basically, the way we play, a level on DCV increases your DCV, not just against some attacks.  It is perfectly possible that I did read it before and ignored it.

Let’s go with this though, and see where it takes us.

So I have a level with HtH combat, an 8 point level, and I decide to Dodge.  Dodge is effective against all attacks, but does my skill level improve my Dodge against Ranged attacks?  It would seem that it would not, because it only applies to DCV against HtH attacks.

I have a Multipower which contains (amongst other things) a HKA and a RKA.  I have a level with the multipower for 5 points.  Now according to the rules that level could increase my OCV with a HtH or Ranged attack, so can it increase my DCV with a HtH or Ranged attack?  That would seem to give added utility depending on how you define what your skill level applies to and I am not in favour of that sort of thing, and make a 5 point level potentially more useful than an 8 point level. 

Moreover, if I do allocate the level to DCV does it then work against both HtH and Ranged (because I could increase the OCV of either) or just one, depending, presumably, on which slot I allocate the Level to.  Would it make any difference if the HKA and RKA were not in a framework or if I were Multiattacking (with GM permission) using both the RKA and HKA?