Law in Fantasy Hero

Chris Goodwin

Have you ever done anything with law in your Fantasy Hero games?  

We've all had the PCs thrown in a cell before, haven't we?  Have you ever had them ask for a lawyer once they were in there?  What did you do?  

Have you ever had them ask for a lawyer when they weren't being thrown in a cell?  

Have you ever had any PC lawyers, or at least PCs with PS: Law, or KS: Law, or similar?  

If so, how did it go?  Because I think most of the time we just assume that every polity is some autocracy where whoever's in charge can just have anyone clapped in irons if they want.  

How about bodies of law, like how IRL we have English common law, Roman civil law, Napoleonic code, etc.?  Have any polities in your world inherited a body of law, or maybe more than one and had to reconcile them?  

I Am Not A Lawyer, but I am curious. 

About 1/2 of the countries in my campaign world have a "Roman-culture" so for those countries they have a kind of Roman civil law.  I tried to read up as much as I could about how Roman's dealt with legal matters.  A couple of my players really are into stuff like that so I have some help there.

A couple of countries are kind of Nordic/Viking in nature so I tried to match what we know about them.