A rule that always bothered me, Full Move, Half Move and Attack, DEX, SPD, and you!

KA.

I have been playing Champions, on and off, since the boxed set.

I own almost every single thing from 4th Ed.

I own the majority of the 5th Ed.books, but never really played that version, and have not looked at 6th due to a lack of players and finances.

I was mostly self-taught in the early days, and since I had bought the books, I was the most "experienced" player in the game, usually the GM.

Years later, on this very board I found out that I had been doing something wrong for years.

You and your opponent are a distance away from each other.

For the sake of argument, you are a Full Move away from each other (whatever that distance might be, let's say 30").

You and your opponent have the same SPD, and his DEX is one point higher than yours, so he acts first.

He chooses to do a Full Move and attack (Move Through, Move By, whatever.)

I want to attack him with a Ranged Attack (Energy Blast).

Because his DEX is higher he goes first.

I don't know if I misread the rule in the early edition, skipped over it completely, or just blocked it out because it would not process, but in our games we always played that.

My opponent starts running at me, from 30" away.

Based on what he is doing (running in a straight line, bobbing and weaving, using cover, whatever) I take my shot with appropriate modifiers for speed and distance.

Then, assuming he is not Stunned or KO'ed, he makes his attack on me at the end of his move.

I am not saying this is right, this is just how we did it.

I also understand now, that doing it this way could potentially rob my opponent of his attack, because he could get Stunned or KO'ed on the way, even though he has the right to attack first because of his higher DEX.

However, when I first was told about the correct way,according to the rules, it sounded so strange.

I know Champions is a super hero game, but not every character is The Flash!