Jump to content

Simon

Administrators
  • Posts

    13,833
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

Everything posted by Simon

  1. Well whaddya know....never even noticed that one ;-) I'll just stick to handling the character creation software and leave the combat software to other folks
  2. I am aware of no such rule. Absorption adds to Defenses just like any other Power. The only statement in FREd (to my knowledge) about Absorption and Defenses is "...but if the Absorption increases any defenses applicable to the attack, only the pre-Absorption amount of defenses protects him that Segment..." -- I followed this in the "example" above. Absorption adds in 1 Character Point for every BODY Absorbed. PD is 1 Character Point per +1, therefore it is a 1/1 with the BODY Absorbed.
  3. OK...an example: I've got a guy with 10d6 Absorption versus Physical Damage. The Absorption goes to his PD. The character has a natural 20 PD (for the sake of argument). Combat begins. He's hit by a punch, taking 12d6 damage. The roll is average and he takes 42 STUN and 12 BODY. His Absorption give him +12 PD now. He takes 22 STUN from the attack. So far so good. Next time he's hit by the same attack, he takes only 10 STUN, and his PD goes up another 12 points. He's now at a respectable 44 PD. After only 2 hits. Third hit does the same damage. He no longer takes any STUN from the attack (he shrugs off the attack) and his PD is now at a whopping 56. This will continue until he maxes out his Absorption (+60 PD for a total of 80 PD). Not too shabby of a Power, if you ask me.
  4. The values posted above are all correct. Figured Characteristics, as the name implies, are "figured" from the primary characteristic values. For example (as noted above): PD = STR / 5 As your strength goes up, so does your PD. Your base PD. Primary characteristics have a fixed "base" value (10). Figured Characteristics have a varying base value, determined by the actual value of the Characteristics that they are based off of. Your PD's base value changes with your Strength. You can also buy up your Figured Characteristics beyond their base value, the same way you can buy up primary Characteristics beyond their base value. The only point at which Figured Characteristics really vary from the primary Characteristics (other than having a varying base value) is that you can only sell off one Figured Characteristic. You can't, for example, reduce both PD and ED to 2 in the example you gave above.
  5. Looks legal to me, though it would depend on the Telepathy not being in the MP (or any other Power Framework). You cannot Link two different slots of a Power Framework (or two slots of different Power Frameworks). One of the drawbacks of a Power Framework. I also wouldn't give the "Must communicate verbally" a -1/2. The cases in which this actually limits you are pretty rare, and the limitation is not terribly "limiting"....I'd call it a -1/4 tops. Unless you also want this to mean that you can only get to conscious thoughts....it would be very difficult to "verbalize" some subconscious thoughts.... One comment on the "Mind Control should not give Telepathy-like abilities": while I applaud the sentiment of not allowing one Power to overlap on another, using Mind Control to tell someone to "tell me the truth about X" is not the same as Telepathy. Simple example: You roll your Mind Control and give your command. The target tells you about X. Is it the truth? You have no real way of knowing...it depends entirely on whether you made your roll -- something you don't know in this case. The target might just be "playing along" and lying through their teeth, having successfully resisted the attempt to control them. With Telepathy, you don't have this problem. You're not relying on them telling you the truth, you're reading directly into their thoughts.
  6. I would say that it's not worth anything....it's not limiting the character in any way. How much are you using your senses when you're unconscious? About the only thing it does is open the character up to Drains and Suppresses (Flashes are already applicable). The chances of running into a Drain or Suppress for a given sense (instead of a Flash) are negligible....and the effect is the same as a Flash (pretty much), so the net disadvantage/limitation is nill. Call it a -0 Limitation or a 0-point Disad, if you want.....
  7. HDv2 is now beginning its public test phase! Here's the deal: If you have a full (purchased) copy of HDv1, you can upgrade it to v2. The upgraded version will be fully functional. The only limitation will be that you must be online whenever you start it up so that it can check its version against the test server. Anytime I change the version, you will need to pull down the new update before you can start up again. Beyond that, it will be a fully functioning copy of v2. If you do not have a full copy of HDv1, you can still try things out with the new demo version that is up there. The demo version is a bit limited in its abilities: you cannot open files, save files, or export/print files. Everything else in the app is fully functional, however, so you will be able to see how the program works and what it can do. The main point in all of this is to get as many eyes on the software as possible for the next few months (before it goes on sale). If you're interested, the Hero Designer site (http://www.herodesigner.com) is now taking open registrations. Just head on over and click on the "Register" link. Enjoy!
  8. HDv2 is now beginning its public test phase! Here's the deal: If you have a full (purchased) copy of HDv1, you can upgrade it to v2. The upgraded version will be fully functional. The only limitation will be that you must be online whenever you start it up so that it can check its version against the test server. Anytime I change the version, you will need to pull down the new update before you can start up again. Beyond that, it will be a fully functioning copy of v2. If you do not have a full copy of HDv1, you can still try things out with the new demo version that is up there. The demo version is a bit limited in its abilities: you cannot open files, save files, or export/print files. Everything else in the app is fully functional, however, so you will be able to see how the program works and what it can do. The main point in all of this is to get as many eyes on the software as possible for the next few months (before it goes on sale). If you're interested, the Hero Designer site (http://www.herodesigner.com) is now taking open registrations. Just head on over and click on the "Register" link. Enjoy!
  9. What Sense Group did he define the Detect as belonging to? If it's the Unusual Group, then your job in blocking it will be harder, but he would have had to have purchased Range, Targeting Sense, etc. Since he bought "Sense", it sounds like this is they method he chose (since Sense is automatic when it's assigned to any Sense Group except for Unusual and Mental). If it's been assigned to one of the other Sense Groups (like the Sight Group), then you can always just do a Flash against that Sense Group (you can't buy a Flash against the Unusual Group). If it's been assigned to the Unusual Group or "no Sense Group", then you'll need to work on something else....like have someone with a high degree of Stealth sneak up on him. Even if he is _able_ to perceive someone, he still needs to make a PER Roll.
  10. Simon

    PBEM game?

    Try checking out Hero Central (http://www.herocentral.net)....you'll find a number of games running (many of them Champions). I believe that there are several that are currently looking for players...or you can start a new one up. You also may want to try the Player Finder section of the forums.
  11. Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Character for review - Shiori HD's value for the SPD is correct. You do not get points back for "partial SPD". Per Steve. If you have a 15 DEX (giving you a 2.5 base SPD), and you sell your SPD to 1, you get 10 points back. The .5 only exists for the purposes of discounting the first upwards increment of SPD.
  12. Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Character for review - Shiori (edited because I'm a dope) He's got the Powers adding into the primary values. +3 SPD as a Power should give him a total of 5. He has a total of 3, however, so he sold off 2 SPD on the characteristics tab (leaving him an overall total of 3). +20 PRE as a Power should give him a total of 30. He has a total of 26, however, so he sold off 4 PRE on the characteristics tab (leaving him an overall total of 26).
  13. The reason (or at least part of it) for all of the complexity is that the reduction in cost from an EC is taken from the Active Cost of a slot (before Limitations are applied). When you're dealing with a Compound Power, where the Limitations and Active Costs of each part vary, you need to "balance" things in such a way that the overall reduction in cost is inline with what the EC should provide and each individual part of the Compound Power is reduced in proportion to its Active Cost. Because this reduction in cost is based on the Active Cost (not the Real Cost) of each part and is performed before Limitations are applied (just like with any other slot), things become a bit complicated. Toss onto that the basic rule that you cannot reduce a slot to an Active Cost which is less than the Active Cost of the EC itself, and you get even more complexity. Trust me, it was a royal pain in the arse to code in ;-)
  14. To simply verbalize the rules on this (which I should have done originally): Definitions: CP The Compound Power that we're dealing with part An individual component of the CP Effect Active Cost The Active Cost of the part after it is adjusted by subtracting the EC discount For each part of the CP, you need to calculate the percentage of the overall discount from the EC to apply. This percentage is determined by the ratio of the part's Active Points to the overall Active Points of the CP. For example: EC value/"discount": 20 Total AP of the CP: 40 AP for a given part: 15 15/40 = 3/8 3/8 * 20 = 7.5 = discount for this part. 15 - 7.5 = 7.5 = effective active cost for this part If the "discount" for a given part is greater than one half of the Active Cost of that part, then you adjust the effective active cost to be equal to the discount. In other words, the following must always hold true: effective active cost >= discount*2 Once you have determined the effective active cost for each part of the CP, you apply the limitations to each part's effective active cost (rounding rules apply here). This gives you the real cost for each part. Add together the real costs of each part, and you will get the total real cost for the CP.
  15. It's close...but not quite there. Each power in a compound power is reduced proportionally to its active points. In your example, you have 20 points of total reduction to deal with from the EC. You have 40 total Active Points of Powers in your compound power (or partially limited power -- same thing). So far, so good. Power 1 has 15 AP. 15/40 = 3/8. (3/8)*20 = 7.5 AP (effective) Power 2 has 10 AP. 10/40 = 1/4. (1/4)*20 = 5 AP (effective) Power 3 has 10 AP. 10/40 = 1/4. (1/4)*20 = 5 AP (effective) Power 4 has 5 AP. 5/40 = 1/8. (1/8)*20 = 2.5 AP (effective) Now we apply Limitations: Power 1 = 7.5 AP = 7.5 RC Power 2 = 5 AP / (1+.5) = 5/1.5 = 3.3 RC Power 3 = 5 AP / (1+1) = 5/2 = 2.5 RC Power 4 = 2 AP / (1+1.5) = 2.5/2.5 = 1 RC Add these up, and your total Real Cost for the slot is 14 points. Note that this entire process is considered one "calculation", so rounding only occurs at the end. The 'effective active" is not a calculation in itself, as you're not calculating the active points, you're just doing the first part of the single calculation to determine the portion of the discount that the ability will get from the EC.
  16. Neither wrong nor a house rule, though I suspect we may be saying the same thing here. I'll go into some detail below to hopefully clear up any confusion..... If you place the Charges Limitation on the MP as a whole (reducing the cost of the MP itself), the the sum total of the charges for the MP (all slots combined) is the number of Charges that you have selected. Each slot gains the benefit of 0-END from the Charges, but the cost of the slot is unaffected by the Charges Limitation. If you place the Charges Limitation on an individual slot within the MP (not reducing the cost of the MP itself), the that one slot has the number of Charges specified. The cost of the slot is altered, but the cost of the MP is not affected at all. For example: If you have a blaster rifle with four different settings and the rifle only has enough charge for four shots, regardless of type, then you would place the Charges Limitation on the MP for the blaster. The cost of the MP would be reduced. The cost of the individual slots would not be affected, though they would get the benefit of the 0-END from the Charges. You could fire off four rounds of a single type, one of each type, or any combination therein, so long as the total shots fired did not exceed four. If, however, you have a bow and arrow with several different types of arrows, then the MP for the bow would not get the Charges Limitation....the Charges Limitation would be placed on each slot, representing the number of each type of arrow that you had. The cost of the MP as a whole is not affected, just the cost of each slot. I've spent quite some time going over the rules for Charges with Steve....this is the way they are supposed to work.
  17. Yes, read the last sentence of my original post: If you want a specific number of chartes for each slot, you place the modifier on each slot and not on the MP as a whole, which is precisely what you did. The cost of the MP itself is not affected by the above construct (nor should it be, per the rules). If you put the Modifier on the MP itself, then the entire MP (all slots) would have a total of 16 Charges.
  18. Fuel Charges cannot be applied unless Continous Charges are bought. Continuous Charges cannot be applied to non-Constant Powers (or Powers that purchase the Continuous Advantage separately from Charges). Charges placed on a MP affect the entire MP. They are not applied to each slot. For example, if you have 12 Charges on your MP, the combined total of ALL slots is 12....not 12 per slot. If you want 12 per slot, you buy Charges on each slot, but not on the MP as a whole.
  19. I honestly don't think that this is a flaw. All it's saying is that at a certain point, the "limitation" of having only X charges isn't really limiting the character enough to be worth any points. For Charges, that cutoff lies at 33. Frankly, I agree with that. I've played characters with charges fairly often in the past, and when they have more than 12 I rarely have an issue running out. It's rare that a character is in combat more than once a day, and given that most combats are fairly short-lived, it's rare that you get a chance to fire off that many rounds. Now, with the new MPA rules and such, it helps make Charges more limiting, but I still feel that 33 is a good cutoff for it not being limiting enough to warrant any points.
  20. Also note that Charges will max out at a +0 (regardless of the number of Charges) if the Power is already 0-END. So that extra +1/2 that you're spending is because you are gaining the benefit of 0-END from the Charges. If you apply it separately, you don't have to pay the +1/2.
  21. I wasn't being rude, so come down off of your high horse. My assumption was that he didn't know what FREd referred to (common enough....especially for someone both new to the boards and from another country). My followup post was the same as my first one, but specifying the book in a way that he would be able to identify....and explaining what FREd meant so that he could recognize the term in the future.
  22. Turn to page 206 of the Hero System Fifth Edition Rule Book (the big black book that contains all the rules for 5th edition...also known as FREd). Start reading.
  23. Re: Re: Re: Trolls Shadow Stalker = Shadow Shulker = Centurion = Stormbringer There was one other account in there as well...but i don't recall it offhand.....
×
×
  • Create New...