Jump to content

Simon

Administrators
  • Content Count

    13,811
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

Everything posted by Simon

  1. You received a lot of information because you posted a freaking essay. And continue to do so. Spend some time learning how to concisely and clearly state what you're after if you don't want folks to take sidelines based on the myriad and varied points in your posts. It's generally to be assumed that you should realize that Trigger is a different Modifier from Linked and intended to represent different things. You started this by suggesting that Trigger could be more limiting than Linked in certain contrived instances....which indicates a lack of understanding of the difference be
  2. You're getting frustrated because you're trying to just slap Trigger onto a concept without paying attention to what Trigger is for. Trigger lets you activate an ability before it is used/fires. You can lay a trap, set a healing spell that fires when your armor is breached (you take BODY), etc. It allows the character to spend the time (and END) for an action before the action takes effect (potentially long before). If we continue with the example of a Flash that fires when a HtH attack hits, you could do this with a Trigger. You activate the Flash along with your
  3. Yes, that's always the case with Linked (though it can be the Greater Power, depending on how Linked is setup). The Limitation comes from the fact that you cannot use the Linked Power without first using the Power that it is Linked to. Also note during this that if Power B is linked to Power A and both are Attack Powers, without other Advantages applied to Power B you would pretty much have to state that you're using both before making an Attack Roll -- you don't get to make two Attack Actions. Which brings us back to Trigger -- you're going to want to read the text for Trigger pretty care
  4. I suspect you're looking at Linked slightly incorrectly. If Power B is Linked to Power A, it can only be used when Power A is used. So far so good. You don't get to make the call "it can only be used when Power A is used and I hit my opponent with Power A" -- that's a Trigger and gives the distinct Advantage of only firing after you have successfully struck your opponent (vs the typical MPA). Trigger is required to have Power B automatically fire when you successfully hit an opponent with Power A (an Advantage). Linked is something you get to take to state that you can't use
  5. There is a way to turn it off in general, but I don't think that we're going to.
  6. Please avoid discussion in this forum -- not the place for it.
  7. True enough, so you're left with the second paragraph of the writeup for Megascale:
  8. As you note, ignore the part about Characteristics. Dispel is an Instant Power, but it's the effect that you're interested in -- if an ability that has been Drained (or Suppressed) is Dispelled, as the Drain/Suppress fades the ability may "snap back" into being if the current points exceed the amount Dispelled.
  9. Just a quick heads-up for folks: the rules questions forum has been changed a bit, given Steve's schedule and general lack of time to jump in and answer questions these days. The forum is now an open question and answer forum. Threads should stick to similar themes as previously (rules questions pertaining to 6E). Anyone can respond now...and folks can vote/rate answers. The highest rated answer is listed first...and the original poster can select a best-answer (which will be pinned to the top of the list). I'm treating this as something of an experiment for now --
  10. Think in terms of DCs -- a 1 1/2 d6 HKA is 5 DCs. With Reduced Penetration, you'd split that into two 2 DC rolls (there's no "partial damage class") -- 1/2d6 or 1d6-1 You always round down for cases like that -- golden rule: you can't get a bonus out of the Limitation. If the target does not have any applicable defenses, you should not be better off with Reduced Penetration than without.
  11. It should pose some amount of difficulty to get into -- be that time to change, a Secret ID, focus, magical incantations, etc. If the character can simply change to Hero ID at will with no limitation or repercussion, there's no value to the limitation. If the character wants a completely different look when in Hero ID (i.e. your example of human to demon) they should purchase the appropriate Powers -- Shape Shift, Multiform, etc.
  12. None? The forum-correct way to do it is through the use of multiple, nested containers with the various IPS-specific styles defined: <div class="ipsSpoiler" data-ipsspoiler=""> <div class="ipsSpoiler_header"> <span>Spoiler</span> </div> <div class="ipsSpoiler_contents ipsClearfix"> <p> hidden </p> </div> </div>
  13. Generally up to the GM, but I'd personally say that you would need to purchase a new Maneuver. Martial Maneuvers are meant to represent a specific movement and not something that you build on over time (by adding different elements to the Maneuver)....so a particular Martial Art may have multiple forms of Strike, representing more and more advanced knowledge within the art.
  14. You've essentially spelled out what you need to purchase: Multiform with the Personality Loss and Requires A Roll Limitations....Or just Personality Loss, which already entails some difficulty changing back.
  15. You would need to buy Affects Physical World on all STR that you wanted the Advantage to apply to. If the character only has the base 10 STR, you would need to purchase APW against that 10 STR (costing 20 points). If the character purchases +10 STR (for a total of 20) and you want for the full 20 STR to affect the physical world, you would spend a total of 50 points (10 points for +10 STR, 40 points for Affects Physical World on 20 STR)
  16. It simply acts as a Grab, using the Clinging STR to hold onto the stuck individual. All other questions are answered the same as for a grabbed character.
  17. A fellow rogue would be As Powerful. Fellow rogues (all of them) would be More Powerful.
  18. You also get something that doesn't scale - you cannot use it to travel, say, across the planet.
  19. You're not really asking a question here... Social Complications don't have parentheses by default in HD as that is how they were requested (by the game designers). If you want parens included, simply add them in. If you add the opening paren, HD will take care of closing it.
  20. Not entirely sure if this will work: Legacy support for BBCode has been deprecated and disabled on these forums as a result.
×
×
  • Create New...