Jump to content

steph

HERO Member
  • Posts

    594
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    steph got a reaction from Duke Bushido in Combat luck and armor   
    Combat Luck: 3PD, 3ED
    Active cost 6
    cannot wearing armor -1\2
    real cost 4
  2. Like
    steph got a reaction from akrippler in Combat luck and armor   
    Combat Luck: 3PD, 3ED
    Active cost 6
    cannot wearing armor -1\2
    real cost 4
  3. Like
    steph got a reaction from WaywardSon in Combat luck and armor   
    In my low magic session. Combat luck work only without armor. 
  4. Like
    steph reacted to Christopher in Abort to dispel   
    I think he overfocussed on attacks needing Attack rolls. Wich is true 95% of the time, just not this exact example.
    I guess we all agree that Dispel is a attack power. The only question was if it could be used during abort under the "defensive Action" rules. based on it being a way to defend yoruself/your team against a power.
     
    Actually that reminds me of something from the APG's, give me a moment to check back.
  5. Like
    steph reacted to Surrealone in Abort to dispel   
    Per 6e1 p193:
    Dispelling Incoming Attacks
    A character can use Dispel to protect himself from incoming attacks, but he must have a Held Action. Assuming the Dispel applies to the attack, he uses his Held Action to “attack” the incoming attack with his Dispel. He rolls his Dispel dice (he doesn’t have to make an Attack Roll, though this does constitute an Attack Action). He Dispels the attack if the total of the Dispel dice exceeds the Active Points in the attack. The Power Defense of the character making the incoming attack (if any) doesn’t apply to reduce the Dispel effect roll.
     
    Thus, to answer the original question:
    No, you cannot Abort (key word: abort) to Dispel per RAW … and I would not permit it.  Key to this is that it requires an attack roll and, thus, is an Attack Action (i.e. not a defensive action).  This is why a Held Action is required …
  6. Like
    steph reacted to Doc Democracy in Critical Hits in the Hero System   
    I think the question should be, if there were to be critical hits in your game, what would you want them to do in game terms.
     
    sometimes the best thing is not to kill your opponent and, if you roll a critical hit it should benefit you rather than deliver a result (like a killing blow) which might be contrary to what you wanted to achieve.
     
    I like a critical hit giving a bonus to your next action.  So, you might roll a critical in one action meaning that you get a +5, +8 or +10 (depending on your game) to your next related action.  This is the time to try that thing you would never do, like do a head shot, or shoot a gun out of your opponents hand, or any number of things that have large OCV penalties associated with them.
     
    Doc
  7. Like
    steph reacted to Lucius in Healing...self only?   
    Something he has to actively focus on doing:  (Total: 53 Active Cost, 30 Real Cost) Regeneration (3 BODY per Turn), Can Heal Limbs (53 Active Points); Does Not Work On Some Damage ([Rare attack]; -1/4), Nonpersistent (-1/4), Costs Endurance (Only Costs END to Activate; -1/4) (Real Cost: 30)
     
    How to build it depends on exactly what you mean by "actively focus on it." The Nonpersistant Limitation keeps it from happening when unconscious, and "active focus" might be interpreted in a number of ways; as for example Costs END. You would also use Concentration or maybe Extra TIme. Or this,
     
    Something he has to actively focus on doing:  (Total: 53 Active Cost, 30 Real Cost) Regeneration (3 BODY per Turn), Can Heal Limbs (53 Active Points); Does Not Work On Some Damage ([Rare attack]; -1/4), Nonpersistent (-1/4), 64 clips of 1 Charge (-1/4) (Real Cost: 30)
     
    Charges with "clips" means that for each use, it's necessary to spend a full phase (or half phase with a Fastdraw roll) to "change clips" i.e. in this case to "actively focus" on the ability.
     
    Lucius Alexander
     
    The palindromedary says we hope 64 uses of a 3 pt Regeneration is enough for anyone......
  8. Thanks
    steph got a reaction from tkdguy in Rolemaster 2 (skills)   
    I try to build a group to play with google hangout if your interested 
  9. Like
    steph reacted to bluesguy in Disarm a shield   
    In my Valdorian Age campaign there was a dwarf, the only one anyone had seen in forever, who carried a monster axe that he specifically used to destroy shields.  I had to look up the DEF/Body for all shields being used in my campaign.  So the character's first action after IDing the most dangerous melee opponent and use his axe on that person.  He could throw the axe (the character was crazy strong and had bought PSL vs. range with the axe) and aim for the shield.  Almost every time the shield was destroyed.  Then he would go after that opponent with a sword and put on his shield.  I think he had fast draw with those as well.  As a GM I allowed it because it was so unique and made for interesting fights.  I very much enjoy cinematic fight scenes.
  10. Like
    steph got a reaction from PenDrake777 in LFG: Fantasy Hero Online   
    Hello guys still looking for a GM ?
  11. Thanks
    steph reacted to LoneWolf in Disarm a shield   
    What does the STR min. have to do with a disarm? I would assume that a person wielding the weapon has the STR min.  The STR min has two effects.  The first is that if you do not have at least the listed STR you take a penalty on your OCV and DCV.  The second is what STR is required to add damage to the attack. 
     
    Even if they do not meet the STR min they can still use their full STR in a disarm or other maneuvers.  Say I have 7 STR and I am using a great sword, my penalty to OCV and DCV will be -2 because I am 10 under the STR min.  When I disarm someone I take -2 to my OCV and DCV, plus any additional penalty for the maneuver usually -2 OCV for a disarm.  I can then use my 7 STR to attempt to disarm my opponent. 
×
×
  • Create New...