Jump to content

Katherine

HERO Member
  • Posts

    733
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Katherine's Achievements

  1. Is there an upper limited on how complicated a Barrier can be sfx wise? Could a character theoretically make a functional building (with rooms, stairs and other amenities that could conceivably be created as one single object or hand waved as special effects), for example?
  2. Re: Negative Adjustment Powers vs Summoned Beings after the fact Thanks for all the suggestions!
  3. Re: Power Discussion: Barrier Another dumb question*: Is there an upper limited on how complicated a Barrier can be sfx wise? Could a character theoretically make a functional building (with rooms, stairs and other amenities that could conceivably be created as one single object or hand waved as special effects), for example? *I have the rules and I'm moving through them slowly and haven't gotten to barrier yet.
  4. Re: Power Discussion: Barrier Dumb Question: Can you apply other Defenses like Flash, Menta, Power or even Damage Negation to a Barrier?
  5. Re: Negative Adjustment Powers vs Summoned Beings after the fact
  6. Re: Negative Adjustment Powers vs Summoned Beings after the fact Ack! I never thought of that... "Don't worry. He's only mostly dead. Not all dead. We can still save him!" My head hurts. Edit: Suppress Summon could be a cool spell. The mage or priest has to focus their will to hold the demon in the Nether world and they can only do it just so long... I'm just not sure if the cool is worth the occasional headache.
  7. Re: Omcv 1? WOOT! I'm been called Impertinent, Impudent and Impossible (to deal with) but this is a first for Impeccable. I see where you're coming from. I'm rolling around just setting MOCV to 0 in most cases as a House rule. It solves the cognitive dissaonance and sell back issues in one swoop.
  8. Re: Negative Adjustment Powers vs Summoned Beings after the fact If you use Drain or Suppress does the creature come back when the wear off?
  9. Re: Negative Adjustment Powers vs Summoned Beings after the fact Thanks! That's an odd exception when you think about it. If Summon is the mechanism for creating things like Undead and all Demons must have been summoned as some point whats the time limit? Can you Dispel the Summon on the Demon that's been guarding a tomb for centuries or and Undead? I was more thinking of Aiding the original Summon like you can Dispel it but you've sort of answered that since it was as special rule for Dispel.
  10. Re: Omcv 1? I think that sort of thing should be campaign dependent since I can see the logic behind thinking "Why do non mentalists "normals" (not every campaign has a normals/supers divide) even have MOCV in the first place?" Its like everyone having an ESP Characteristic that most characters can't and won't use (and in game it doesn't exist for them) but is just on the character sheet because of a technicality taking up space like Com was said too) because certain characters can buy the ESP power. If I use this I'm probably just going to set MOCVs base to 0 for most campaigns. It borks mentalists a little but it just makes more sense to me. Maybe I'll make a low cost "Latent Mentalist" talent that gives a base 3 MOCV for free and lets th character use certain campaign defined abilities.
  11. Can a character use Dispel, Suppress or some other adjustment Power to send a Summon creature away after the initial use of Summon? For example, a demonologist Summons a pit fiend and sends to attack a character. It arrives hours later. Can the mage Dispel the original Summon and banish it or would they have to interrupt the original use of the Power? Part our groups says yes, since you can't just Dispel things like Entangles or the Damage from an Energy Blast, others think Summon is a special case. On a related note could another Aid a Summon and strengthen an already Summoned being? I can think of some cool (and kinda grisly) rites that could have that effect but I'm not sure if its mechanically valid (unless I used my power of: The GM says so. )
  12. Can a character use Dispel, Suppress or some other adjustment Power to send a Summon creature away after the initial use of Summon? For example, a demonologist Summons a pit fiend and sends to attack a character. It arrives hours later. Can the mage Dispel the original Summon and banish it or would they have to interrupt the original use of the Power? Part our groups says yes, since you can't just Dispel things like Entangles or the Damage from an Energy Blast, others think Summon is a special case. On a related note could another Aid a Summon and strengthen an already Summoned being?
  13. Re: Omcv 1? If the GM has to pull out stuff like Extra Dimensional Movement to "Sucks to be You!" Land usable as an attack just to balance out one choice about single characteristic that might indicate something is wonky with that characteristic. Honestly, selling back your MOCV if your character has no mental powers doesn't seem that bad and not entirely cheesy point mongering. They can't utilize or practice something that they don't have. It a little like accusing a person playing a physically paralyzed mentalists for selling back their physical combat values. They literally can't use them and even if they suddenly gained the ability to move they're probably awkward and clumsy. Non Mentalists are like that when it comes to Psionic combat. I wouldn't unduly penalize a player for selling their MOCV back. If they didn't have a good reason I would look askance if they just shifted those points to MDCV though without a reason. Edit: Wouldn't the EDM approach also kind of screw with any characters that didn't put any focus into mental combat too (which would mean dumping stats into a character you never expected to use)? Unless it was just used on those that sold back their MOCV which splits the party so to speak. MOCV is, from what I can tell, the only attribute that a good portion of characters can expect to never use unless the GM does something weird and thematically would makes sense for most characters to be subpar in if for some reason they did have to use it.
×
×
  • Create New...