Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'mental powers'.
How obvious is it to others that a character has made their Breakout Roll from a continuing-effect mental power? Say a mentalist has successfully attacked a target with Mind Control and given them a command. Presumably the mentalist (or at least the player) knows their attack has succeeded. Then the target successfully makes their Breakout Roll; does the mentalist know if the Breakout Roll was successful or not? In many/most cases it becomes obvious when the target refuses to follow your command, but what if the target wants to pretend to go along with the command to lure the mentalist off guard? Does the mentalist automatically know that their Mind Control is no longer in effect? (Assume the mentalist is not also using Telepathy or Mind Link on the target to read their mental state.) Follow-up questions: Does the answer change if the mentalist is continuing to expend END to prevent deterioration? Does Invisible Power Effects change this? I assume in any case that non-mentalist bystanders can only assume it worked/didn't work based on the target's behavior, right? Thanks.
Question part 1: If I buy a mental power with the limitation Concentration, may I decide when creating the character to have it halve or zero his DMCV instead of DCV? Can I buy it twice at the -1/4 level to halve both DCV and DMCV? Question part 2: If I buy a mental power with the limitation Inaccurate, must the halve or zero be his OCV? Could I define it as his OMCV instead? (It would make more sense, but by the strict rules, there is no mental equivalent). You probably answered both questions till your blue in the face by now, so sorry if I wasn't around to read your response the first time.
Looking for some RAW clarification on what Darkness vs. Mental Group does/doesn't block. In general, Darkness blocks Senses, not Powers. Darkness vs Sight will stop me from seeing you, but if I can target you with another sense it won't stop my laser gun, even tho that's light-based. So by that analogy, Darkness vs Mental would stop me from using Mental Awareness or Mind Scan to target you, but it wouldn't block Mind Control or Mind Blast if I can target you visually. But OTOH, Darkness does block some powers. Darkness vs. Sight blocks Sight Group Images or Flash vs Sight (6e1 p187); presumably, Darkness vs Mental Powers would work the same way. Similarly, radio links are often built as Mind Link, and jamming fields are usually built as Darkness vs Radio Group, right? So why would it work differently if the SFX was mental? Looked at from another angle, Darkness frequently blocks communication: if one of us is affected by Darkness vs. Hearing we can't communicate verbally even if we can see one another. (We could of course talk via sign language or lip reading, but that's using a different sense.) We don't typically think of Communicate Verbally as a Power because it's assumed to be the baseline, but why should Communicate Telepathically be any different? And by extension, if Darkness vs Hearing would block me from giving you Mind Control commands verbally, so why wouldn't Darkness vs Mental Group stop me from giving you Mind Control commands telepathically? I know a lot will depend on sfx, GM's discretion, etc. But I'd love to hear some general principles. Thanks,