Jump to content

MindWyrm

Members
  • Posts

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by MindWyrm

  1. Re: Almost anything that loops is a problem

     

    Damn, that's clever. I couldn't believe this power was legal, but I couldn't find anything in FREd that explicitly forbids it.

     

    There's a bit in the Rules FAQ that warns about it, but it is only a warning:

     

     

     

    As a GM, I would rule that the maximum you could raise the Absorption would be the original maximum, so you could turn your 2d6 into a 4d6 Absorption, and give yourself a max of 24 points for STR, PD, and ED (though PD and ED would be halved), but no more than a 12 max for the Absorption. That rule seems arbitrary to me though (and it makes the power construction a little pointless, although it might be a cheaper way to increase the max): If it increases the max for STR, PD, and ED, it should increase the max for Absorption too. I think I'd have a hard time convincing a player that he couldn't build his power that way and get the effect you described.

     

     

    But wait a moment... Don't the points absorbed have to pay the cost for the advantages of the power/stat they are applied to? If so, a single dice of this absorption power would be 20 points, which is beyond the max of the original absorption which could therefore never add an additional dice.

     

    Even if you allow the addition of half dice, that first half would cost 10 points... thus bumping the maximum to 15 which is still not enough to buy the second half dice. As you approach the required 20 points, you are not gaining enough "extra" points to make it all the way to 20.

     

    Welcome to Zeno's Paradox.

×
×
  • Create New...