Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Clarification on Zero Phase Actions


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Surrealone

Surrealone

    Cosmically Powerful Superhero

  • HERO Member
  • 926 posts

Posted 15 May 2017 - 08:38 PM

Question:

Can a character turn on a power (such as a self-adjustment power, or a defensive power) at the beginning of his Phase, half-move, then turn it off and turn on a different power prior to attacking or taking the other half-phase action?

 

RAW seems to be unclear on this.  Per RAW on 6e2 p18, "A character may perform as many Zero Phase Actions as he wishes at the beginning of a Phase or after performing a Half Phase Action, but not after performing an Attack Action or a Full Phase Action."

The above would seem to suggest someone can perform as many power activations/deactivations as he wishes ... as long as it's at the beginning of a phase or after a half-phase action ... so long as it's not an attack or full phase action.  However, the use of "or" instead of "and/or" gives me pause, especially since another line from the very same RAW citation makes things about as clear as mud, reading, "Some Zero Phase Actions (such as turning on a specific Power) can only be performed once in a Phase."  (Uhh, which ones???)

Then later in the very same RAW citation we see reinforcement of the first line I quoted ... but with "or" instead of "and/or" ... and it reads: ​"A character can turn on (activate) or off (deactivate) a Power or ability at the beginning of his Phase or after he’s performed his first Half Phase Action, but not at any other time unless noted otherwise (such as Aborting to activate a defensive Power)."

 

Can you please clarify?

 

 


"Evolutionary creativity always renders invalid the 'law of large numbers' and acts in an elitist way."

                                                                  -- Erich Jantsch, The Self-Organizing Universe


#2 Steve Long

Steve Long

    Decuple Millennial Master

  • Administrators
  • 16,823 posts

Posted 16 May 2017 - 07:26 AM

No, a character cannot do that -- see 6E1 131, bottom left column and top right column.


  • Surrealone likes this
Steve Long Young Curmudgeon