It's the military! Again!

Solomon

Hi all,

I need help with a plot arc I'm writing for my current Champions group. It features a rogue PRIMUS officier as the main villain, but I have little working knowledge of the military so I'm not sure if the plot sounds plausible.

The bad guy (let's call him Melville for now) is an high-ranking officier, probably the local office's Director. He's obsessed with vengeance against a much more powerful enemy ("Bad Guy 2", probably Doc Destroyer). His foolish obsession will ultimately drag him to his final doom, along with a lot of innocents.

Melville contacts several metahumans who, for one reason or another, need help, protection, etc.

He tells them he's willing to help them found a team of their own and build a base. He will say that PRIMUS will not publicly acknowledge ties with the team because working with metahumans is their policy, and because some of the heroes are not Americans and others have a criminal record. In return, he'll ask them to occasionally perform secret "PRIMUS-sanctioned" missions. That's the theory.

The truth is, PRIMUS knows nothing about this. Melville wants to use the heroes to push his own private agenda, including vengeance against "Bad Guy 2". Despite his claims, Melville is not pulling funds from PRIMUS, he's pulling them from criminal organizations (like VIPER) that want "Bad Guy 2" out of the picture. However, he's accessing classified PRIMUS data, like for instance files on known supervillains.

So I'm asking you, fellow HEROphiles:

- Is this scenario plausible (at least in a comic book world)?

- How likely is PRIMUS to find out the truth, and how much would that take?

- How likely is a PRIMUS director to access and divulge classified data?

- Melville can't do all of this alone. How many people should partecipate in the conspiracy to make it work?