Need help with a power (new player)

BubbleGum

Hey all I'm new to TTRPG and decided to learn the HERO system, I'm trying to create my first character to get a better understanding of everything though I'm stumped at creating my first power as I decided to try something more complicated.

I'm trying to create a power for my first character though I'm not sure which framework to use, the power is able to create "puppets" out of the surrounding materials that will fight for you. like for example in a concrete parking lot the power would use the concrete in the ground to pop out concrete puppets and leave puppet-shaped holes in the ground, in a field it'll create dirt puppets or wood puppets when near trees and so on and so forth.

that's the most basic ability but I'm not sure how to make summon work for it

There are a lot of ways this could be done (as simple as attack powers whose SFX are a puppet leaping out of the surroundings to attack the target, then sinking back into the ground).  I’m going to assume a power that creates one or more independent automatons, so Summon.  That’s a pretty complex build, and has issues in game play, so may not be the best choice.  I’d talk that out with your GM – no sense building a character whose concept that won’t be allowed in the game anyway.

So that starts with building the Summoned puppet as a separate character sheet.  The cost is 1/5 of its total points. Presumably, it’s a pretty basic high STR construct, likely with Automaton Powers like Takes No Stun.  Let’s assume you can build that for 300 points – it’s a 60 point power.  Now, you likely want more than one, so let’s say 4 – that’s 10 more points (5 for each doubling), so 70 points.  They are slavishly loyal, so a +1 Amicable advantage = 140 points.