Package deal issues

AmadanNaBriona

OK...so I've been playing Hero for over 20 years now (gulp!), and I just recently picked up FREd and began converting the campaign world I've been working on in for the last 5 years while I lived in the mountains with no gamers nearby. Now that I actually have access to players, I'm finding some of the changes a bit boggling. Specificaly, I'm trying to wrap my brain around the modifications to package deals, as in the new Fantasy ero, there seems to be more of an emphasis on them, with less of a point break, and higher power levels to boot. As my setting was designed to rely on packages rather heavily, its throwing a wrench into my conversion work... I'm having to rethink quite a lot. has anyone come up with interesting ideas for pointing out increased charateristic maxima or other tweaks to the new package systems?

And as an aside, hinted at before...whats up with these power levels? I was testing out a couple of bits that didn't ring true in my head, and threw together a Warhammer style "Dwarf Slayer"... Dwarf, Warrior Culture, Mountain Environment, and Light Warrior packages. Then I paid out the extra for the over Max characteristics, distributed the levels, slapped on a couple of extra penalty levels, combat luck, and Deadly Blow (Monster hunter)...and wound up with about a 200 point charater (less than 20 points spent outside of packages) that , on testing, droped a charging Bestiary T-Rex with one, single, 2 battleaxe aimed multipower attack to the head... even without a critical.

Now...I see this mainly as part of the ongoing problem Hero has with underpowering muckin' huge critters... but even so.......