Novice question: Martial artist

revanick

Or...... where the heck do I put points?

To start with, I'm new to the Hero system and don't have that much experience with RPGs. I'm still in the stage where I have to struggle to actually roll play as opposed to being a rules lawyer/technician. (Hey, on the plus side, I DO point out where the rules are against me, so I'm not ALL bad). I'm trying to develop a character and I'm really uncertain how to distribute the points appropriately. My previous experience was about 3 game sessions of GUPRS fantasy, and an old Japanese RPG called Bushido.

100 pt characters with 100 pts of disads.

Jake Shannon's only unusual ability was the ability to find the history of an object by physical contact. He makes a living as an antique appraiser, being called in occasionally to authenticate items, or very quietly by police to find out what happened in some investigations where they get stumped. He keeps a low profile. He is in the habit of keeping much of his body covered, particularly his hands, to avoid getting readings from objects he comes in casual contact with. (Btw, can anyone think of a decent way to "clean" the psychic history from objects? I would like to give him a way to be able to be able to buy a sofa without having the impressions left of those who sat down in it to test it on the show room floor.)

Jake's world comes in for a radical change the day he is asked to date a Japanese sword. Rather than just getting the history, he gets actual previous owner's spirit enters his mind and takes up permanent residence. The warrior's name is Tadeka Sokaku.